Uhuru signs 8 bills into law

December 24, 2013 4:17 pm
President Kenyatta signed 8 Bills into law on Tuesday. Photo/PSCU
President Kenyatta signed 8 Bills into law on Tuesday. Photo/PSCU

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 24 – The National Social Security Fund (NSSF) Bill has now been signed into law.

This is after President Uhuru Kenyatta signed into law eight bills among them the NSS Fund Bill, which shall create two funds – the Pension Fund and the Provident Fund.

The Pension Fund shall cover all employed individuals who are 18 years old and above but who have not attained the pensionable age.

The Provident Fund shall on the other hand cover self employed individuals who voluntarily register and those who are not eligible for membership of the Pension Fund.

The Bill had received a lot of backlash from various quarters with concerns surrounding the monthly deductions that those employed will have to make.

Among those who were most vocal against the legislation were the Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) and a cross section of civil servants who argued that the six percent deduction would be punitive.

“The other Bill which will be taking away six percent of teachers’ salary to another destination must be taken with a lot of care before it is implemented,” said KNUT Chairman Mudzo Nzili.

The teachers even said that they would take to the streets if the Bill was effected into law.

“Those who are playing with our pay rolls, trying to make billions of shillings from workers as a donation kitty to the government must hear that we are truly in solidarity,” said KNUT Secretary General Wilson Sossion.

Kenyatta also assented to the Capital Markets (amendment) Bill, the Election Campaign Financing Bill and the Wildlife Conservation and Management Bill.

Others were the Media Council Bill, the Insurance Motor Vehicle Third Party Bill, the Truth Justice and Reconciliation (amendment) Bill and the Vetting of Judges and Magistrates (amendment) Bill.

These Bills were passed by the National Assembly over the last two months and were presented to the Head of State by Speaker Justin Muturi.

The House has so far passed 21 Bills with 19 others at various stages of enactment.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed