Leaders who joined Kenya’s Golden Jubilee fete

December 12, 2013 9:21 am
President Kenyatta welcomes his Malawi counterpart Joyce Hilda Banda. Photo/PSCU
President Kenyatta welcomes his Malawi counterpart Joyce Hilda Banda. Photo/PSCU

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 12 – Fourteen Heads of States and Government joined Kenya to mark the 50th anniversary since independence.

The leaders joined thousands of Kenyans who made their way since dawn at the Safaricom Kasarani Stadium to mark the historic occasion.

Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikwete, Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni and the President of the Democratic Republic of Congo Joseph Kabila joined their counterpart President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto who led the nation in marking of Kenya’s 50 years of independence.

Burundian President Pierre Nkurunziza, President of Eritrea Isaias Afwerki, Nigerian President Dr Goodluck Jonathan and President of Botswana Lt. Gen. Sertse Khama Ian Khama also graced the occasion.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn, Sudanese President Salva Kiir and Gabon President Ali Bongo Ondimba was also present to congratulate and celebrate with Kenya.

Other Presidents who attended the ceremony included Malawian President Joyce Hilda Banda, President of Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Mohamed Abdelaziz, Union of the Comoros President Ikililou Dhoinine and Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Ambassadors representing various countries, former government officials from other countries and other dignitaries also joined Kenya in its historic celebrations.

Former President Mwai Kibaki, former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, Chief Justice Dr Willy Mutunga, Cabinet Secretaries, Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero, Senators, Members of Parliament and other government officials were also in attendance.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed