Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Technocrat Rotich picked to head Treasury

HENRY-ROTICH-UHURUNAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 23 – Henry Rotich has been nominated as the Cabinet Secretary for the National Treasury by President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto.

He will however have to undergo vetting and approval by the Parliamentary Committee on Appointments.

The new Treasury Secretary nominee has been the head of macro-economics at the Ministry of Finance, since March 2006. He has been involved in formulating macroeconomic policies that ensured affordable and sustainable path of public spending aimed at achieving the government’s development priorities.

Rotich has also played a key role in the preparation of key budget documents including the Budget Statements, as well as providing strategic coordination of structural reforms in the area of fiscal and financial sector.

Prior to joining the Ministry of Finance, Rotich worked at the Central Bank of Kenya since 1994 and at one time, he was attached to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) local office in Nairobi as an economist.

He has also consulted as a short-term macroeconomic expert in the region including Mozambique, Malawi and Rwanda with the IMF’s East AFRITAC in Tanzania and Macroeconomic and Financial Management Institute (MEFMI) in Zimbabwe, in addition to supporting the designing of macroeconomic convergence criteria of the proposed East African Monetary Union.

Once appointed, his first huge task will be ensuring that the budget process for the coming financial year is completed on time.

The new Cabinet Secretary is expected to present the estimates for the 2013/2014 financial year in the next seven days.

However the estimates may not include the required input by Parliament and the various ministries, if the vetting of the new Cabinet Secretaries will not be complete by the time.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

If approved, Rotich will be the 15th ‘Finance Minister’ since Kenya’s independence.

Other ministers who have served at the Finance Ministry include James Gichuru, former president Mwai Kibaki, the late Arthur Magugu, the late George Saitoti, former deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi, Simeon Nyachae, Francis Masakhalia, Chris Okemo, Christopher Obure, David Mwiraria, Amos Kimunya, the late John Michuki, President Uhuru Kenyatta, and the outgoing minister Robinson Njeru Githae.


More on Capital News