Ex-councillors promoted to MPs in Nairobi

March 7, 2013 1:32 pm


Embakasi North also elevated former Councillor James Mwangi Gakuya to the rank of area MP on a TNA ticket/CFM
Embakasi North also elevated former Councillor James Mwangi Gakuya to the rank of area MP on a TNA ticket/CFM
NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 6 – Former councillors dominated the list of winners for parliamentary seats in Nairobi.

Former Kimathi Ward Councillor Benson Mutura (TNA) staged the biggest upset after he downed former Nairobi mayor George Aladwa (ODM) to clinch the Makadara Parliamentary seat in a hotly contested race.

Mutura garnered 37,644 votes against Aladwa who polled 36,079.

In Embakasi West, former Umoja One Ward Councillor George Theuri beat ODM’s Brian Weke. Theuri was officially announced the MP-elect after garnering 40,606 votes against Weke’s 35,333.

Embakasi North also elevated former Councillor James Mwangi Gakuya to the rank of area MP on a TNA ticket.

The former Muthurwa Ward Councillor garnered 31,590 votes. His closest rival, ODM’s Joan Otieno Macodawa, managed 26,273.

A former Nairobi Deputy Mayor, John Njoroge Chege, was elected the MP for Kasarani.

In Westlands, former Nominated Councillor Timothy Wanyonyi Wetang’ula scooped the seat.

In Dagoretti North, another former ODM nominated Councillor, Paul Simba Arati, was elected area MP on an ODM ticket.

He garnered 43,004 votes against his closest challenger, Simon Ngugi of TNA, who had 25,140 votes.

ODM Irshad Sumra finally made it to Parliament after 15 years of trying, after he was declared MP for Embakasi South. Other successful candidates include lawyer Tom Kajwang (ODM) who scooped the Ruaraka seat, John Olum (ODM) took Langata while Fred Okoth (ODM) secured the newly formed Kibra Constituency.

TNA’s Waihenya Ndirangu captured the Roysambu parliamentary seat. He has previously served in Parliament as the youngest MP after being elected to serve in Nyeri Town.

Margaret Wanjiru’s eldest son Steven Kariuki (ODM) garnered (34,076) to secure the Mathare parliamentary seat. He defeated former Kiamaiko Councillor George Mike Wanjohi of TNA who garnered 32,156 votes.

Former Nairobi Mayor John Ndirangu (TNA) trounced his closest rival, ODM’s Lameck Siage after garnering 37,168 votes against Siage’s 20,623, to become the Embakasi Central MP.

Former Starehe MP Maina Kamanda reclaimed the Starehe parliamentary seat that he lost to Bishop Margaret Wanjiru in 2002.

Kamanda bounced back after twice being beaten by ODM senate candidate Bishop Margaret Wanjiru during the 2007 general election and later during the 2010 by election.

The former Sports Minister was trounced by Bishop Wanjiru in the 2007 elections but he lost the ensuing by-election.

Yusuf Hassan Abdi retained his Kamukunji Parliament seat on a TNA ticket.

Hassan, who suffered serious injuries from a grenade attack last year, garnered 44,586 votes in all 122 polling stations in the constituency.

Of the 17 constituencies in Nairobi, nine have elected former councillors to represent them in the National Assembly. Six were elected on a TNA ticket and three on an ODM ticket.

Overall, TNA won 10 parliamentary seats in Nairobi while ODM secured the remaining seven.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed