Joy, protests as nomination results trickle in

January 18, 2013 7:05 am

, VOTERS-DISPLAYING-CARDSNAIROBI, Kenya, Jan 18 – Several Members of Parliament have fallen casualty in ongoing party nominations, as vote tallies start trickling in from various parts of the country.

Among those who have lost nominations are Nyakach MP Pollyns Ochieng, Machakos Town’s Victor Munyaka and Itwiku Mbai of Masinga.

Ochieng was outclassed by Awour Aduma who garnered 12, 562 votes to Ochieng’s 6,241 votes to be declared winner.

Ken Obura also won the ODM nomination in the newly created Kisumu Central, while Gideon Ochanda won the ODM nomination to succeed Oburu Odinga as the Bondo MP. Oburu is going for senator’s seat in Siaya but nominations there were shrouded in controversy.

Meanwhile, cabinet ministers Chirau Mwakere, John Munyes, Naomi Shaban, Sally Kosgei, Samuel Poghisio, Mutula Kilonzo, Margaret Kamar and former Government Spokesman Alfred Mutua were among those who registered victories for various posts in the nominations.

Labour Minister Munyes scooped the Ford-K nomination and will now fight off with URP’s Ekwe Ethuro for the Turkana senate seat. Josephat Nanok won the ODM nomination for Turkana governor.

Mwakere won the URP ticket to contest the Kwale senate seat; Poghisio took the URP West Pokot senate ticket.

Former PC Paul Olando will now face CORD’s Wycliffe Oparanya for the battle of the Kakamega gubernatorial post.

In Nairobi, Evans Kidero will be waiting to know his challenger from the Jubilee Coalition after he clinched the ODM nomination for the governor’s seat. Former City Council of Nairobi Town Clerk Phillip Kisia was declared Federal Party of Kenya candidate for the governor’s race after decamping from the orange party.

At the Coast, Ali Hassan Joho was unopposed for the ODM ticket and will now be bracing for a titanic battle against Republican Congress Party’s Najib Balala and UDF’s Suleiman Shahbal for the Mombasa governor’s contest.

For the positions of Member of Parliament, Abdulswamad Nassir, the son of the late cabinet minister Shariff Nassir and the outgoing Likoni MP Mwalimu Mwahima went in unopposed.

For the Jomvu Kuu parliamentary seat which was curved from Changamwe, a son of the Assistant Minister for Environment Ramadhan Kajembe was declared the winner. Seif Kajembe defeated his brother-in-law Badi Twalib on an ODM ticket while Bezimba Rashid won the ODM ticket to prepare for the Kisauni parliamentary seat on March 4.

Little known Asha Hussein pulled a major upset after she beat long time ODM activist Mishi Mboko to win the Mombasa County women representative’s slot on an ODM ticket.

Asha garnered 20,349 votes against Mboko’s 19,945 after tallying.

Special Programmes Minister Naomi Shaban clinched the TNA Taveta senate ticket after she was unopposed.

In Samburu County, Moses Lenkulal bagged the nomination certificate for URP for the gubernatorial post while former MP Sammy Leshore won the senator’s nomination.

The TNA nomination in Samburu was won by Stephen Lekupe for the governor’s post while Paul Leringato has taken the senator’s post.

Nominated MP Maison Leshomo has also bagged the TNA nomination for the Samburu women representative’s position.

On the other hand, Simon Arama won the ODM Ticket to contest the MP’s seat in Nakuru West.

In Nyamira County, John Nyagarama took the ODM nomination for the governor’s post, with former MP James Gesami bagging the MPs nomination for West Mugirango.

Alice Chae has been nominated to vie for the women’s representative position on an ODM ticket.

In Nandi County, the URP nomination for the MPs post has been won by Alex Kosgey who will now vie in Emgwen Constituency.

Former Government Spokesman Alfred Mutua has also sailed through for the governor’s nomination in Machakos, with Johnson Muthama winning the senator’s post.

Education Minister Mutula Kilonzo also won the senator’s position in Makueni County on a Wiper Democratic Party ticket.

In Uasin Gishu County Prof Margaret Kamar has won the senator’s position under CORD.

The stakes are high in the contest for the Bungoma senate seat after Moses Wetangula clinched the Ford-K ticket, while UDF’s Mukhisa Kituyi and long time political rival Musikari Kombo of New Ford-K were cleared to vie for the seat.

In the governor’s race, Internal Security Assistant Minister Alfred Khangati clinched the ODM ticket unopposed and will now face New Ford-K’s Kenneth Lusaka.

In Kakamega County UDF’s George Khaniri will face Federal Party of Kenya leader Cyrus Jirongo and ODM’s Prof Shianyisa Khasiani.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed