Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News
Mbaru (R) speaks during a meeting of The National Alliance/COURTESY


Mbaru roots for Uhuru-Mudavadi boardroom deal

Mbaru (R) speaks during a meeting of The National Alliance/COURTESY

NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 13 – A TNA aspirant for the Nairobi gubernatorial seat, Jimnah Mbaru, now says the Jubilee Alliance’s decision to use delegates to elect its flagbearer is ill-advised as it is likely to lead to fallouts and tension in the political grouping.

Mbaru says the alliance should instead go for consensus between Uhuru Kenyatta, William Ruto and Musalia Mudavadi instead of allowing 20 delegates per party from every county to take part in the primary.

“In view of the fact that the emerging coalitions of political parties have not developed effective mechanisms for nominating presidential candidates, I would like to recommend that the coalitions adopt the consensus method in determining their presidential candidates. In this way, the coalitions will reduce anxiety among their followers,” he said.

Delegates from parties in the alliance across Kenya’s 47 counties are scheduled to converge in Nairobi on December 18 to pick the Jubilee Alliance’s presidential candidate.

“I feel that this approach is good not just for Jubilee but also for other nascent coalitions as well,” Mbaru insisted, arguing that the delegates system while having its merits is prone to external influence.

“As one of the gubernatorial candidates in Nairobi, I wish to add my voice to those within the coalition who have proposed that the choice of a candidate be carried out through consensus of key representatives from the three partner parties, from TNA, UDF and the United Republican Party,” he said.

Legal teams under the Jubilee Alliance last week agreed on a college system for presidential nominations in which the three member parties will have 20 delegates per county.

The committee made up of The National Alliance (TNA), United Democratic Forum (UDF) and United Republican Party (URP) agreed that voting will be by secret ballot.

Committee members include former anti-corruption boss Aaron Ringera, Mandera Central MP Abdikadir Mohammed and Laikipia West MP Nderitu Muriithi.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Other members include legal officers and Jubilee members Jasper Mbiuki, David Chirchir, Fred Ngatia and Kipchumba Murkomen.

Click to comment

More on Capital News