22 to battle it out for Ndhiwa ODM ticket

August 10, 2012 2:29 pm
Ojode’s widow Mary, who is reportedly enjoying the backing of the Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s wife Ida and former MP Tom Elvis Okello Obondo are among the front runners to win the nominations/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 10 – Twenty-two aspirants will on Monday battle it out for the Orange Democratic Movement ticket to vie for Ndhiwa parliamentary in a by-election set for September 17.

The seat fell vacant following the death of Orwa Ojode in a helicopter crash in June.

Speaking after meeting the aspirants, ODM National Electoral Board Commissioner Judith Pareno said that preparations for the nominations were complete at the 140 polling centres, which will be used for the nominations ahead of the by-election.

“All the 22 aspirants for the ODM ticket in Ndhiwa Constituency today resolved to maintain peace and tranquillity during and after the party nominations as outlined in the party’s elections and nominations code of conduct and signed the document as a surety to uphold peace during the exercise,” she said after the meeting held at the ODM Headquarters on Friday.

Commissioners Judy Pareno, Peter Kuguru, board secretary Joseph Misoi and ODM Executive Director Janet Ong’era cautioned the candidates against breaching elections rules.

The board also told the aspirants that any candidate who causes chaos and commits actions that are in breach of the stipulated rules and regulations shall be disqualified from the exercise.

Pareno said those wishing to participate in the exercise must produce their original ID and national voters card before they are allowed to cast the ballot for their preferred aspirant.

He said: “The board directed that the Returning Officer and all the Presiding Officers for the Ndhiwa parliamentary seat nominations be from outside Homa Bay County to avoid bias during the exercise.”

Meanwhile, Ong’era said that the party had written to the Commissioner of Police requesting for adequate security during Monday’s exercise adding that all the 140 polling stations will be manned by at least two police officers.

At the same time, board secretary Joseph Misoi said the party will not field a candidate or support another party’s candidate in the Kangema constituency by-election. The party has awarded Peter Mositet with direct nomination for the Kajiado North contest.

“Where we have presented our candidates we have already stated that – but as of now – we as ODM have not presented our candidates in that constituency,” he said.

Misoi however refused to respond to questions on how many people had expressed interest to vie on the party’s ticket in the Central Kenya constituency, where the party lacks support.

“We are not cowed, this is just a by-election and we are prepared for a much bigger election and you will see what ODM can do.”

In Kangema, the seat fell vacant after area MP John Michuki died in February, whereas Kajiado North and Ndhiwa seats fell vacant after George Saitoti and Ojode perished on June 10, in a helicopter crash in Ngong forest’s Kibiku area.

Ojode’s widow Mary, who is reportedly enjoying the backing of the Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s wife Ida and former MP Tom Elvis Okello Obondo are among the front runners to win the nominations.

The following is the full list of the 22 ODM aspirants in Ndhiwa Constituency;

1. Edward Odero

2. James Omamo Ogola

3. Washington Kalee

4. Peter Otieno Kojwang

5. Robinson Mireje Onyando

6. Martin Peters Owino

7. Moses Collins Onono Lorre

8. Daniel Odinde Nyamai

9. Michael Ouma Agwanda

10. David Ojwang

11. Aghostino Netto Oyugi

12. Beatrice Akinyi Ogola

13. Monica Amolo

14. Mary Awuor Ojode

15. Hamilton Onyango Orata

16. Duncan Jomo Osodo

17. Kennedy Omondi Opiyo

18. Charles Oyoo Kanyangi

19. Dennis Onyango Orero

20. Tom Elvis Okello Obondo

21. Oduru

22. Jeremiah Okoth Owiti


Latest Articles

Most Viewed