Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News
Prof Saitoti and Ojode died on Sunday in a helicopter crash


Saitoti, Ojode to be buried this weekend

Prof Saitoti and Ojode died on Sunday in a helicopter crash

NAIROBI, Kenya, Jun 12 – The government funeral committee for Sunday’s helicopter tragedy has set tentative burial dates for Internal Security Minister George Saitoti and his deputy Orwa Ojode.

The committee led by Vice president Kalonzo Musyoka agreed that Saitoti would be laid to rest on Saturday, while Ojode’s send off is to be conducted on Sunday.

The Tuesday morning meeting also resolved that the State would assist victims of the Mlolongo building that collapsed on Saturday evening.

“The meeting deliberated on the burial dates for the Minister of Internal Security the late Prof. George Saitoti, and his Assistant the late Orwa Ojode, the two pilots alongside two bodyguards who perished on the Sunday morning crash,” read a statement from the Vice Presidential Press Service after deliberations that lasted two hours.

Saitoti and Ojode died in a plane crash on Sunday that also killed bodyguards Inspector Joshua Tonkei, Sergeant Thomas Murimi, the pilot Captain Nancy Gituanja and Luke Oyugi who was co-pilot.

Subsequently, the funeral committee headed by the acting Head of Public Service Francis Kimemia convened at the Office of the President to fine tune details of the burial arrangements.

The Vice President’s committee will meet again on Wednesday morning to make a formal announcement on the funeral programmes.

On Tuesday afternoon, the committee visited the homes of the two pilots at West Park Estate and the two bodyguards’ homes at Highridge Estate in Parklands.

The meeting was attended by 20 members including Cabinet Ministers James Orengo, Amos Kimunya, Naomi Shabaan, Dalmas Otieno and Wycliffe Oparanya, Assistant Ministers Gideon Konchellah and Joseph Nkaissery, Head of Public Service Francis Kimemia and Permanent Secretaries Bitange Ndemo, Ludeki Chweya, Mutea Iringo and Andrew Mondoh.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

On Monday, the government formed a five-member team headed by Appeal Judge Kalpana Rawal to probe the helicopter crash.

Others in the five-member probe team are Air Force Commander Major General Harold Tangai, George McOwenga, Charles Mutinda and Faith Irari.


More on Capital News