ODM now orders repeat polls in 2012

December 7, 2011 4:30 pm

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 7 – The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) now will conduct repeat grassroots elections in several counties including Nairobi in January next year.

ODM’s National Elections Board sitting in Nairobi under the chairmanship of Philip Okundi ordered the postponement of all the repeat elections scheduled for this week in areas where complaints had been raised, following the party’s grassroots elections held on November 24 to 27.

Grassroots elections for Nyamira County which did not take place due to the by- election in Kitutu Masaba Constituency which were scheduled to begin on Friday were also put off.

According to a statement from the party, the board took the decision after considering that many party members and officials will be busy during the festive season.

In addition, members of the National Elections Board will be engaged in other official commitments during the period.

The board has directed that repeat elections in Nairobi County, Nakuru County and various other branches and sub branches be held alongside the Nyamira County Elections between the January 19 and 23, 2012.

Last week the ODM elections board rescinded its earlier decision to conduct fresh grassroots polls in Nairobi County, following reports that the elections were not transparent.

The board had earlier announced that there would be fresh grassroots elections in Nairobi following the controversial election of Nairobi Mayor George Aladwa.

Aladwa, who was backed by chairmen from six city branches, was elected after Stephen Kariuki from Starehe constituency pulled out of the race following disagreements on the voting system.

Starehe MP Margaret Wanjiru termed the poll a sham accusing rivals of using people who were not genuine party delegates to win the election.

The Nairobi County; Elections will be held from the Location/Ward to the branch level in the entire three streams-Orange Women Democrats League, Orange Young Democrats League and the Mainstream Elections.

In Rarieda Sub-Branch, in Siaya County, elections have been ordered to be held in Central Uyoma and West Uyoma Locations where the exercise was not held.

The board has also ordered for elections in East Gem Location in Rangwe Constituency in all the three streams.

In Lugari Sub-Branch, in Kakamega County elections have been ordered in the Wards where they were not held in all the three streams. These Wards are; Musemwa/Vinyenya Ward, Moi’s Bridge/Matunda Ward, Kongoni Ward, Sango Ward, Marakusi Ward, Lwandeti Ward, Maturu/Mahanga Ward and Mabuye Ward.

Kathiani Sub-Branch of Machakos County shall hold a repeat of the elections in all the three streams from the Location/Ward Level to the Sub-Branch Level.

In Shinyalu Sub-Branch, in Kakamega County there shall be a repeat of the exercise in Mugomari Sub-Location and in Ilesi, Shihulu and Kambiri Wards thereafter a repeat of the Sub-Branch elections.

The statement further stated that the board had also ordered that there will be no repeat of elections in Nyando, Khwisero and Tana after consultation and extensive investigations into the complaints raised by some of the party members.

Results of grassroots elections in more counties, branches and sub branches could still be reviewed as the statement said that the board was in the process of “reviewing and validating results received from all over the country.”

Prime Minister Raila Odinga who is the leader of the ODM has maintained his pre-election pledge of not taking sides in the polls, even as several party heavyweights lost their seats.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed