Protests as Aladwa elected Nairobi ODM boss

November 28, 2011 6:42 am


Aladwa was backed by seven chairmen from city branches/FILE
NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 28 – George Aladwa has been elected Nairobi County ODM Chairman in an election that was decided by the queuing method on the last day of elections that began on Thursday last week.

Aladwa who was backed by seven chairmen from city branches was elected unopposed after Stephen Kariuki from Starehe constituency pulled out of the race following disagreements on the voting system.

Aladwa said the victory had given the party a new face in the city and that they will settle down quickly to help ODM start preparing for next year’s general elections.

Aladwa said: “We have not seen an election with such a huge turnout. Our focus now is to build a strong party in the grassroots to ensure it takes over leadership of this country next year.”

Starehe MP Margaret Wanjiru who led the walk out by delegates from her constituency however termed the poll a sham and accused rivals of using people who were not genuine party delegates to win the election.

“The only way we are going to know the true delegates is through secret ballot, but they have filled the hall and called for mlolongo (queuing). It is not fair and so Starehe… we are out of it,” she said.

Aladwa said that the leadership of the county will convene a meeting in the next one week to plan their next course of action.

Other officials elected to represent the county include; Ibrahim Ahmed (Vice Chairman), former Nairobi Mayor Godfrey Majiwa (County Secretary), Charles Kiarie (Organising Secretary) and Elizabeth Kimkung as the representative of women.

The election which was supposed to have started at 2pm was delayed for more than three hours starting moments after 6.30pm, after disagreements during the vetting of delegates and later, the mode of voting.

The election was also marred by near-violent confrontations by delegates as lobbying went on at City Hall.

In Mombasa, the election was marred by violence, but was later decided on consensus after a splinter group boycotted the exercise.

A group allied to Hassan Joho who is contesting for the county governor’s post met at Coast Girls High School and decided to share the seats available, effectively locking out their opponents.

Mombasa County coordinator Mishi Juma said no official complaints had been lodged over the election malpractices as alleged by few individuals and urged the aggrieved parties to seek redress.

Changamwe MP Ramadhan Kajembe who is also one of the national vice-chairmen of the party was elected chairman with former Football Kenya Limited Chairman Mohammed Hatimy as his deputy.

Millicent Odhiambo is the new secretary and will be deputized by Okoth Waudi.

Likoni MP Masoud Mwahima clinched the post of treasurer with Rashid Badzimba elected his deputy.

Abdulswamad Nassir who is eyeing the Mvita parliamentary seat is the new organizing secretary and will be deputized by Joyce Kazungu.

Tourism minister Najib Balala did not participate in the polls.

Party leader, Prime Minister Raila Odinga, has lived to his pre-election pledge not to take sides in the polls, even as several party heavyweights cried foul after losing.

The premier attended a fundraiser in Kerugoya keeping off matters to do with the election results and disputes in the party he leads.

The battle for party positions now moves to the national level with a National Delegates’ Conference (NDC) set for early next year.

Already, Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi has expressed interest in contesting for the post of party leader, currently held by Prime Minister Raila Odinga.

The post of the secretary general has also attracted many contenders, even as the current office holder Cabinet Minister Anyang’ Nyong’o hopes to defend the seat.

Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba, Larry Gumbe and TJ Okinda are some of the leaders who have expressed interest in vying for the position.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed