Hassan leads the race for IEBC boss

October 17, 2011 10:58 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 17 – Ahmed Isaack Hassan, Koki Muli and Murshid Abdalla have been nominated for the position of Chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

The IEBC Selection Panel presented the three names to President Mwai Kibaki on Monday morning, and the president is expected to consult with the Prime Minister and pick one of the three nominees.

“Isaack Hassan scored the highest marks, Koki Muli came second in interviews while Murshid Abdalla Mohamed was third,” said Ekuru Aukot the panel’s chairman.

Nominated as Commissioners are Yusuf Nzibo, Abdullahi Sharawe, Jotham Okome, Thomas Letangule, Joshua Wambua, Mohammed Alawi, Lillian Bokeeye, Jedidah Pilale, Muthoni Wangai, Bwire Camus, James Mugi, Lawrence Nyalle and Kule Galma.

Aukot said women candidates responded poorly for the jobs, standing at a paltry 18.5 percent of the total applicants.

President Kibaki in consultation with Prime Minister Raila Odinga will appoint one person as the Chair and eight as members of the Commission. The names will be forwarded to Parliament for approval.

Only four candidates had applied for the crucial position of Chair to the new electoral body when the position was first advertised forcing the Aukot led team to re-advertise. After the second advertisement 15 candidates applied and only eight were short-listed.

In addition two of those who had been short-listed for the interviews were disqualified after it emerged that one of them had been untruthful in his application while the other lacked a clearance certificate from the Kenya Revenue Allocation (KRA).

Critics were also of the opinion that the selection panel lacked a big enough pool from which to draw a more diverse group of interviewees.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed