Top electoral officials fail to make cut for IEBC jobs

September 14, 2011 1:56 pm

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 14 – Only three commissioners serving on the Interim Independent Electoral Commission (IIEC) have made it to the shortlist of those who are likely to sit on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

A statement released by the IEBC selection panel on Wednesday showed that Yusuf Nzibo, Simiyu Abiud Wasike and Kennedy Nyaundi made it to the list of 44 candidates who will undergo interviews scheduled to begin on September 26.

Those who failed to make the cut are Davis Chirchir, Winnie Guchu, Douglas Mwashigadi, Tiyah Galgalo and Hamara Ibrahim.

The IIEC has received much acclaim for its management of various by-elections and last year’s constitution referendum, and the absence of its commissioners from the body’s successor will not go unnoticed.

Those shortlisted from the defunct Interim Independent Boundaries Review Commission (IEBRC) are commissioners Mwenda Makathimo, Jedidah Ntoyai and Abdulahhi Sharawe.

The selection panel is expected to forward 13 nominees to the President who will then, in consultation with Prime Minister Raila Odinga, nominate eight candidates.

The panel which is chaired by Ekuru Aukot has called upon members of the public with any credible information touching on the selection of the candidates to reach the panel by September 22.

Last week, the panel re-advertised the chairman’s position after it received only three applications.

Aukot said that four people had applied for the post but one of the applicants was disqualified because he did not hold a law degree. The panel is supposed to send three nominees to the President for consideration, and the scenario restricts their options.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission will determine the 80 new constituencies created by the new Constitution as well as prepare and manage next year’s elections.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed