Vetting of IEBC panel kicks off

July 26, 2011 9:01 am


CIOC Chairman Abdikadir Mohammed/ File
NAIROBI, Kenya Jul 26 – Vetting of proposed members of the selection panel that will recruit Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners (IEBC) kicked off in Nairobi on Tuesday morning.

Presidential nominees Marion Mutugi and Ambassador Mwanyengela Ngali were the first interviewees to appear before the Constitution Implementation Oversight Committee at County Hall.

Prof Mutugi has served in various capacities both in private and public sectors including being an administrator at the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology. She unsuccessfully contested the Ndia parliamentary seat in 2007.

The 51-year-old also served as the deputy secretary general of the Democratic Party.

She told the parliamentary committee that had retired from politics and her previous stint would not cloud her judgment as a member of the interviewing panel for the commission.

Ambassador Ngali was next to be interviewed by the MPs. He has served as a Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and later as Kenya’s High Commissioner to Canada. Until 2008, he was the Chairman of the Kenya Pipeline Company.

In 2002, he unsuccessfully vied for the Wundanyi parliamentary seat on a Kanu ticket.

Seven individuals will be appointed to the panel that will pick the country’s next electoral and boundaries commission which should be in place by August 1.

Seven individuals will be appointed to the panel once the process is concluded and they will determine who forms the new electoral body, which should be in place by August 1.

The President and Prime Minister nominated two individuals each while the rest were nominated by the Kenya Anti Corruption Commission, the Judicial Service Commission and the Professional Association of East Africa.

There are ten nominees to the panel who are to be vetted by the CIOC.

CIOC Chairman Abdikadir Mohammed said last week that none of the nominees was exempt from the vetting process.

The Premier picked Rosa Abuyu and the former Secretary of the Committee of Experts Ekuru Aukot to the crucial panel.

The Kenya Anti Corruption Advisory board has nominated Charles Wambugu and Irene Keino while the Association of Professional Societies of East Africa (APSEA) have nominated Dr. William Okello Ogara and Sophie Njeri Muturi to the panel.

The Judicial Service Commission proposed Judge Isaac Lenaola and Emily Ominde to serve in the seven member panel. However the selection panel requires seven members, so only three individuals from these bodies will go through.

The CIOC is expected to present its report to Parliament on Wednesday.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed