Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


Tobiko picked for DPP as CJ, deputy approved

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – President Mwai Kibaki and Prime Minister Raila Odinga have picked Keriako Tobiko to retain the post of Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), and approved the nominees for the positions of Chief Justice the Deputy CJ.

The two Principals who held a meeting at Harambee House on Tuesday morning will now send the names of Mr Tobiko and those of Dr Willy Mutunga (CJ) and Nancy Baraza (Deputy CJ)  to Parliament for debate and approval.

"On recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission and after consultations with the Prime Minister the President has today (Tuesday) nominated for approval by the National Assembly Dr Mutunga for the post of Chief Justice and Ms Baraza for the post of Deputy Chief Justice," a statement from the Presidential Press Service indicated.

It continued: "In addition and following the recommendation of the interviewing panel, President Kibaki after consultations with the Prime Minister has nominated for approval by the National Assembly Keriako Tobiko for the post of Director of Public Prosecutions."  

Mr Tobiko has been the DPP for the past five years and was chosen from a list of three nominees that were sent to the two leaders by a special task force that interviewed interested candidates.

According to the Constitution, the DPP is nominated and with the approval of Parliament, appointed by the President.

The DPP will hold office for eight years and shall not be eligible for re-appointment.

Mr Tobiko who holds a masters degree from Cambridge University was a commissioner in the Yash Pal Ghai-led Constitution of Kenya Review Commission.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Read his full CV here.

The special interviewing panel that had been constituted to pick candidates for the DPP’s position had sent the names of Mr Tobiko, his Deputy Dorcas Oduor and lawyer Patrick Kiage for consideration for the plum job.

Meanwhile, interviews for the posts of Supreme Court judges will be conducted from June 6 to 14, according to an announcement by the JSC on Tuesday.

Some 25 applicants will be interviewed for the jobs.

Seven Court of Appeal judges who include Justices Philip Waki, Emanuel O\’kubasu, Philip Tunoi, Erastus Githinji, Riagal Omolo, Alnashir Visram and Joseph Nyamu are among the candidates.

On Friday, JSC acting chairperson Prof Christine Mango said 56 people had applied to be part of the seven-member Supreme Court, which will be presided over by the Chief Justice and his deputy.

Some of the candidates who will be interviewed appeared before the JSC to be grilled for the position of Chief Justice and Deputy CJ.

They include lady Justices Kalpana Rawal and Mary Ang\’awa who have also been shortlisted for the highest court in the land.

Other notable candidates for the post are Justices Muga Apondi, Hannah Okwengu and Martha Koome. Lawyers Njoki Ndung\’u and Dr Smokin Wanjala also made it to the list.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The JSC once has again invited members of the public to send in their views and questions about the 25 candidates.

Follow the writer at


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News