Raila assures provincial administrators

October 7, 2010 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 7 – Prime Minister Raila Odinga has assured Provincial Administrators that they will not be sacked but will instead be given new assignments as the government implements the provisions contained in the new Constitution.

The PM said that Provincial Administration stands abolished in the new Constitution but the officers currently serving as administrators will not be shown the door but will be given new duties.

Mr Odinga said a new system of devolved government as captured in the new laws would emerge and would be \’professional, focussed and impartial.\’

At the same time the PM dismissed claims that should the Provincial Administration be abolished, the country should be ready for chaos and mayhem at all the provinces.

He said that the Provincial Administration was after all a creation and relic of the colonial government and was largely used by the colonial masters to administer \’indirect rule\’ that was oppressive.

"Even in the UK we don\’t have PCs, DCs and DOs yet there is no chaos," he said.

The Premier said that the new law will give Kenyans an opportunity to elect leaders of their own choice as opposed to a system where leaders were imposed on them.

The PM was speaking at Matuguta-Kiatuamba village in Githunguri constituency while addressing mourners during the burial of veteran freedom fighter Peter Gathoga Kihara.

The Prime Minister said Kenya had lost a hero whose life was a statement of betrayal of the ideals of struggle for liberation of our country.

He said that the late Kihara popularly referred to as Peter Young had lived to see the dawn of a new democratic era take shape in the country and had died a happy and proud man.

The Premier reiterated that the honour bestowed on the late Kihara and on other heroes who left before him is to protect, defend and expand the democratic space that the Likes of the late fallen hero, fought so hard for.

Others in attendance included cabinet ministers James Orengo, Mohammed Elmi, Prof Ayiecho Olweny, Magerer Langat, MPs Yusuf Chanzu, Wilson Litole, former MPs Njeru Kathangu, Koigi Wamwere, Wanyiri Kihoro, Mwandawiro Mghanga, and Mwashengu Mwachofi among others.



Latest Articles

Most Viewed