Live: Nobel Literature Prize

October 7, 2010 12:00 am

, STOCKHOLM, Oct 7 – Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa has won the 2010 Nobel Literature Prize, edging out celebrated Kenyan author Ngugi wa Thiong’o.

The Swedish Academy awarded the prize to the Peruvian, and hailed "his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual\’s resistance, revolt, and defeat."

Here is a list of the 15 most recent winners of the prize:

2010: Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)

2009: Herta Mueller (Germany)

2008: Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio (France)

2007: Doris Lessing (Britain)

2006: Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)

2005: Harold Pinter (Britain)

2004: Elfriede Jelinek (Austria)

2003: J.M. Coetzee (South Africa)

2002: Imre Kertesz (Hungary)

2001: V.S. Naipaul (Britain)

2000: Gao Xingjian (France)

1999: Gunter Grass (Germany)

1998: Jose Saramago (Portugal)

1997: Dario Fo (Italy)

1996: Wislawa Szymborska (Poland)



Latest Articles

Most Viewed