Twin Kenya polls on September 20

August 6, 2010 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 6 – Makadara and Juja residents are set to go to the polls to elect new Members of Parliament on September 20.

In a Gazette notice published on Friday, Interim Independent Electoral Commission Chairman Issack Hassan announced that candidates should submit their nomination papers to the IIEC on August 26 and 27.

“Each political party wishing to participate in the by-elections must finalise the nominations of its candidates on or before August 9,” said Mr Hassan.

Florence Kwamboka and George Amisi will be the Returning Officer and Deputy Returning Officer for Makadara Constituency respectively.

"We will be expecting the Returning Officer to conduct the by-election with the same integrity, transparency and professionalism that she displayed while conducting the referendum for the constituency."

Public Works Assistant Minister Dick Wathika lost the Makadara parliamentary seat in April following an election petition filed by the 2007 loser Reuben Ndolo.

Lady Justice Kalpana Rawal said the electoral process was marred by irregularities. She said the election was not free and fair and that the returning officer abdicated her responsibility.

In Juja, Government Chief Whip George Thuo lost his seat in April following an election petition filed by the 2007 election loser William Kabogo.

The twin by-elections come against the backdrop of a largely successful national referendum. The IIEC has also conducted successful by-elections in Shinyalu, Bomachoge, South Mugirango and Matuga constituencies. 

There will be additional by-elections in Starehe and Wajir South constituencies following the High Court’s nullification of the election of Bishop Margaret Wanjiru and Abdirahman Ali Hassan respectively.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts