Live text from historic Kenya event

August 27, 2010 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 27 – 12.55pm The presidential motorcade departs for State House.

12.50pm Uhuru Park ceremony comes to an end.

12.45pm Defence force band leads in the singing of national anthem

12.43pm President Kibaki finishes his speech.

12.28pm President Mwai Kibaki addresses the nation.

12.08pm Prime Minister Raila Odinga addresses Kenyans amid cheers and prodding from the crowd.

12.00pm Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka makes remarks hailing Kenyans for the new law.

11.48am Speeches begin.

11.50am State House choir prepares to entertain guests.

11.42am  Eric Wainaina sings his celebrated ‘Daima Kenya’ song

11.39am Kenyans, dignitaries including First Lady Lucy Kibaki rise to their feet to dance to Emmy Kosgei’s song

11.36am  Gospel Artist Emmy Kosgei takes the stage.

11.31am  Caroline Nderitu recites a poem.

11.20am Entertainment galore.

11.10am  Helicopters trailing banners bearing the words, ‘GOD BLESS KENYA.’

10.55am March past by detachment of Kenya defence forces begins.

10.54am swearing in of top officials comes to an end.

10.48am Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka takes oath of office.

10.44am Raila Odinga takes oath of office as Prime Minister.

10.43am President Kibaki signs the oath as the Chief Justice countersigns.

10.42 am President Kibaki takes fresh oath of office as president under new law.

10.40am President Mwai Kibaki begins taking the oath of office under the new Constitution.

10.37am Justice Gicheru signs the oath of office document.

10.36am Chief Justice Evan Gicheru takes oath of office.

10.35am Chief Justice Evan Gicheru prepares to take oath under new Constitution.

10.33am 21-Gun salute as the Jumbo National Flag is hoisted at the top of Uhuru Park.

10.30am Kenyans sing the three stanzas of the National Anthem.

10.29am President Kibaki receives copies of Constitution with seals from the Attorney General

10.28am AG helps in affixing the seal on the instruments of promulgation

10.27am President signs six copies of the Constitution.

10.26am President signs the new Constitution into law.

10.18am President reads statement of promulgating the new Constitution.

10.17am Wako hands the president copies of the instruments of promulgation.

10.16am Attorney General Amos Wako takes six sets of new constitution to be signed by President Mwai Kibaki.

10.15am Prayers conclude.

9.59am Prayers begin led by traditional elder, then Sheikh Kassim

9.58am President Kibaki greets dignitaries at the dais before taking his seat.

9.57am President Kibaki walks to the dais escorted by Chief of General Staff Jeremiah Kianga.

9.56am President Kibaki finishes inspecting the guard of honour.

9.50am National Anthem as President Mwai Kibaki inspects the guard of honour.

9.43am President Kibaki arrives with First Lady Lucy Kibaki at Uhuru Park but 30 minutes behind schedule.

9.41am Ethiopian leader arrives.

9.35am Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni arrives at Uhuru Park escorted by Amos Kimunya.

9.31am Newly re-elected Rwandan President Paul Kagame gets a rousing welcome from Kenyans.

9.30am The President of the Comoros is escorted to the event.

9.17am Zanzibari president Abeid Karume arrives at Uhuru Park.

9.16am Sudanese president Omar El Bashir makes surprise appearance despite a pending arrest warrant from ICC

9.14am Master of Ceremony Sammy Lui introduces guests

9.08am The military takes their positions awaiting arrival of President Kibaki.

9.03am PM Raila Odinga, his wife Ida and other family take their seats. 9.00am Prime Minister Raila Odinga arrives amid wild cheers from the crowd.

8.59am Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka accompanied by his wife strolls in.

8.58am Businessman Kamlesh Pattni gets cheers from the public as he walks in.

8.50am Military parade marches into Uhuru Park.

8.45am Chief Justice Evan Gicheru and AG Amos Wako arrive dressed in their official attire.

8.35am Former President Daniel arap Moi arrives amid cheers from the crowd.

8.33am Uhuru Kenyatta leads other Cabinet Ministers into Uhuru Park.

8.31am Deputy PM Musalia Mudavadi takes his seat.8.28am Former Ghanaian John Kufuor who brokered peace deal arrives at the park.

8.25am Various PSs begin arriving.

8.18am Former UN Chief Kofi Annan who was instrumental in ensuring peace after the disputed 2007 poll arrives at the event

8.15am Retired Tanzanian Benjamin Mkapa arrives.

7.00am Uhuru Park is already a sea of humanity.

3.00am Kenyans begin streaming into Uhuru Park.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed