Kenya to host Commonwealth MPs

February 10, 2010 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 10 – Kenya is set to host the 56th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference in September. 

Speaking at his Harambee House Office during talks with Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Secretary General Dr William Shija, President Mwai Kibaki said the Government will provide all the logistical, security and any other support required to make the conference a success.

The Head of State noted that Kenya has been an active member of the Commonwealth and pointed out that a similar conference was last held in the country in October 1983.

During the meeting, President Kibaki and Dr Shija also discussed new avenues of cooperation between the National Assembly of Kenya and the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

The Secretary General reaffirmed his association’s commitment to work with the Kenyan Parliament in promoting knowledge and understanding about parliamentary democracy and respect for the rule of law and individual rights and freedoms.

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association conference in Nairobi will bring together close to 900 delegates from the 54 countries of the Commonwealth. These include speakers, ministers, Members of Parliament and parliamentary officials.

Kenya contributes to various Commonwealth Organisations and Funds, specifically to the Commonwealth Secretariat, the Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation, the Commonwealth Foundation and the Commonwealth Youth Programme.

On its part, the Commonwealth assists Kenya through projects and activities implemented under the Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation and the Commonwealth Secretariat’s Regular Fund. The assistance consists mainly of training courses, technical assistance, policy and advisory support, seminars and consultancies in the field of good governance, democracy, trade and investment, economic and financial management, poverty reduction and public sector reforms.

Present at the meeting were Foreign Affairs Minister Moses Wetangula, Defence assistant Minister David Musila, who is also the National Chairman of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Organising Committee, the Head of Public Service and Secretary to the Cabinet Amb Francis Muthaura and the National Assembly Clerk Patrick Gichohi.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed