Kenya swears three more constitution judges

February 26, 2010 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 26 – President Mwai Kibaki on Friday at State House, Nairobi witnessed the swearing in of three judges of the Interim Independent Constitutional Dispute Resolution Court.

The three Judges Michel Bastarache of Canada, Unity Dow of Botswana and John Alastair Cameron of UK join six others who were sworn earlier on.

The Interim Independent Constitutional Dispute Resolution Court (IICDRC) is established by the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Act No 10 of 2008 and consists of nine judges, six of whom are Kenyan citizens.

President Kibaki appointed the judges on January 7 2010 and six judges were sworn on January 15 this year.

The Constitutional Court has an exclusive mandate to hear and determine all and only matters arising from the Constitutional review process for the period up to December 2010 or three months after the promulgation of the new constitution.

The court proceedings commence operations from March 1, 2010. They will be held in public in courtrooms and chambers currently situated at the Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC) to ensure accessibility.

In attendance were Minister for Justice, National Cohesion and Constitutional Affairs Hon Mutula Kilonzo, Permanent Secretaries Amina Mohamed and Francis Kimemia of Justice and Internal Security respectively.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed