Kenya Media Council gets new members

November 24, 2009 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 24 – Six Council Members of the Media Council of Kenya were sworn in by Lady Justice Kalpana Rawal at the High Court on Tuesday.

These included new members Linus Gitahi and Sarah Nkatha who replaced Hanningtone Gaya and Susan Kasera whose two year terms expired this month.

They were nominated by the Media Owners Association (MOA) and the Kenya Union of Journalists (KUJ) respectively and consequently appointed by the Director of Information Ezekiel Mutua.  Mr Gitahi is also the CEO of the Nation Media Group and the chairman of the Media Owners Association while Ms Nkatha is a member of the KUJ.

The other four, Wambui Kiai, William Oloo Janak, Peter Mutie and Hiram Mucheke were returned by their nominating bodies.

Ms Wambui Kiai is the Director of the School of Journalism of the University of Nairobi. Mr Mucheke is the Principal of the Kenya Institute of Mass Communication (KIMC) and has vast experience in Broadcast Media having worked at the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation. Mr Janak is the Chairman of the Kenya Correspondents Association which has nationwide membership, while Mr Mutie is the Chairman of the Public Relations Society of Kenya.

Council Chairman Wachira Waruru welcomed the new Council Members adding that they would be fully briefed about their duties and responsibilities at the next Full Council meeting scheduled for December 2.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed