Youth PS named, new provincial heads in Kenya

July 16, 2009 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Jul 16 – President Mwai Kibaki has made major changes in the Provincial Administration and appointed six new commissioners.

Nairobi PC James Waweru has been elevated to Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to replace Kinuthia Murugu who died last week following a shooting by gangsters three weeks ago.

Immediate former Kisii Central District Commissioner Njoroge Ndirangu becomes the new head of Nairobi Province. In Eastern, Claire Omollo takes over from David Jakaiti, while Kirinyaga DC Osman Warfa has been promoted to replace long-serving administrator Hassan Noor Hassan as Rift Valley PC.

In Western province, Abdul Mwasera has been replaced by S.M Kilele. Francis Mutie takes over from Paul Olando in Nyanza province while North Eastern gets James Ole Serian as the new head replacing Kiritu Wamae.

Mr Mutie is the immediate former District Commissioner for Nakuru North.

President Kibaki has however retained Ernest Munyi   in Coast and Japhter Rugut as Central Provincial Commissioner.

At the same time, Mutea Iringo has been elevated to Senior Director Administration/Secretary In charge of Internal Security and Victor Okioma becomes Senior Director Administration/Secretary Incharge of Provincial Administration.  

“This will strengthen coordination of Administrative services at the Headquarters,” said a dispatch from the Presidential Press Service (PPS).

The President has also appointed 20 Senior Area Deputy Provincial Commissioners to man strategic regions.

The officers will be in-charge of a cluster of 15-20 Districts unlike the current situation where some Provincial Commissioners are in-charge of over 60 Districts. 

“The twenty officers will be responsible to the Permanent Secretary, Provincial Administration and Internal Security through their respective Provincial Commissioners and will be located in strategic locations within the Province for ease of administration and management,” said the PPS statement.

The strategy is aimed to strengthen the coordination, mobilisation and supervision of human and material resources down to the grassroots. This is important following the increased devolved funds and activities at Constituency/District level. 

“It is expected that development coordination will be enhanced and special attention accorded to programmes with multiple effects such as Kazi Kwa Vijana, Youth and Women Enterprise Funds.” 

The twenty senior officers will be expected to re-map the security architecture, strengthen the District Security and Intelligence Committees including Community Policing fora.

“The officers will also be expected to fast-track social integration, inter-communal harmony, conflict resolution, national reconciliation and healing,” said the President.

“These appointments take effect immediately.”


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed