Kenya MPs reject Parliament list

April 22, 2009 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 22 – Business in Parliament has kicked off to a rocky start after Cabinet Ministers and backbenchers joined hands to oppose the composition of a key House committee.

Public Health Minister Beth Mugo led the onslaught in opposing names tabled by Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka on the 21- member House Business Committee saying it did not honour women representation.

“It is part of government policy to ensure that 30 percent of any institution (comprises of) women, a list of 21 and you have only four women, this is ridiculing women,” she said.

Water Minister Charity Ngilu echoed the claims and asked the Vice President to reconsider the number of women from four to eight to form a third representation.

Gichugu MP Martha Karua was the second to rubbish the list accusing the Party of National Unity (PNU) of sidelining her party, Narc Kenya, which she said helped PNU with 12 members to become the majority in Parliament.

Before quitting the Cabinet last month, Ms Karua was deputy Leader of Government Business, but her name did not appear in the list presented on Tuesday neither did any member of her party.

She said no consultations were done before coming up with the list.

“This list pretends there is only KANU, ODM Kenya and PNU, if my leaving government means I be removed from the list, why doesn’t the PNU side of the coalition then admit that they are now minority in Parliament and handover leadership to the majority?” she posed.

“This type of behaviour does not augur well and is not acceptable, Narc Kenya has more than 12 members, and we merit a slot, not as begging, as of right,” she said. 

Defence Assistant Minister Joseph Nkaissery (ODM) said the PNU side should have distributed the ten slots among its coalition partners which included Narc Kenya.

Imenti Central MP Gitobu Imanyara and Ikolomani’s Dr Bonny Khalwale also rubbished the list saying it did not reflect views of the House since there was no consensus.

Mr Khalwale also moved an amendment to have the Motion deferred for more consultations.

Speaker of the National Assembly Kenneth Marende urged Mr Musyoka to ensure proper consultations are done to come up with an acceptable list.

The HBC is the committee that determines the order of business in Parliament.

Here is the list that was tabled by Mr Musyoka on Wednesday morning.

1. Kalonzo Musyoka, M.P.
2. Uhuru Kenyatta, M.P.
3. Kiraitu Murungi, M.P.
4. Shakila Abdalla, M.P.
5. Esther Murugi, M.P.
6. (Prof.) George Saitoti, M.P.
7. Mutula Kilonzo, M.P.
8. Moses Wetangula, M.P.
9. Adan Keynan, M.P.
10. George Thuo, M.P.
11. Musalia Mudavadi, M.P.
12. William Ruto, M.P.
13. (Prof.) Anyang’ Nyongo, M.P.
. Charity Ngilu, M.P.
15. Henry Kosgei, M.P.
16. (Dr.) Sally Kosgey, M.P.
17. Ali Mohammed Mohammud, M.P.
18. Francis Chachu Ganya, M.P.
19. Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu, M.P.
20. Robert Monda, M.P.
21. Jakoyo Midiwo, M.P.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed