Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


Kenya to face Zimbabwe

NAIROBI, Kenya, January 26 – Kenya take on Zimbabwe in their first One day International (ODI) at Mombasa Sports Club on Tuesday.

Andy Kirstens’ side last played Zimbabwe last year in last year’s Tri Nations tournament which Kenya won by 95 runs after they bowled out the South African nation for 190.

Both teams went on to share the trophy after the series was abandoned due to poor weather and a poor drainage system at the Nairobi Gymkhana grounds.

Apart from starting their international season on a solid footing, Kirtsen will also be assessing his team ahead of the 2011 World Cup qualifiers to be held in South Africa in April.

The team has had an intensive training camp over the past month which included two matches against Uganda.

Captain Steve Tikolo was Kenya’s top scorer on that day with 102 runs and is expected to spearhead the host’s bowling attack with opener Seren Waters and Alex Obanda also expected to feature prominently.

All rounder Thomas Odoyo is fit and ready to take his place amongst the batting order after recovering from illness earlier this year

Zimbabwe will be seeking to make amends for their below par performance in Bangladesh where they finished last the Tri Nations series that also eventual winners Sri Lanka and also lost their ODI series to the hosts 2-1.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The team arrived in Kenya last night and immediately flew to Mombasa which will also stage the second ODI at the same venue.

Action will then shift to the capital for the third ODI at Gymkhana on Saturday by when Kenya hope to have the series wrapped up as a morale booster for the qualifiers.

Kenya: S Tikolo (captain), T Odoyo (vice-captain), S waters, M Ouma, A Obanda, C Obuya, J Kamande, H Varaiya, P Ongondo, L Onyango, R Bhudia, N Odhiambo, T Suji, K Obuya, R Patel,

Coach: Andy Kirsten.

Zimbabwe: Prosper Utseya (captain), Elton Chigumbura, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tawanda Mupariwa, Raymond Price, Edward Rainsford, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Keith Dadagwa, Edward Rainsford, Christopher Mpofu and Foster Muluzwa,

Coach: Walter Chawaguda.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News