At last, one step for Kenya

December 17, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 17 – Members of Parliament have finally approved names to the Parliamentary Select Committee on Constitution Review.

The legislators agreed on a fresh list of 27 members after disagreements on the composition derailed the exercise on Tuesday.

The leader of Government Business Kalonzo Musyoka withdrew the list he had tabled on Tuesday and read a new list that was later approved unanimously.

The members include; Martha Karua, Uhuru Kenyatta, Mutula Kilonzo, Mohamed Abdulkadir, David Musila, Moses Wetangula, Wifred Ombui, Danson Mungatana, Amina Abdalla and Kambi Kazungu.

Others include; Peter Munya, Chachu Ganya, Ekwe Ethuro, Mwangi Kiunjuri, Musalia Mudavadi, Omingo Magara, William Ruto, Ababu Namwamba, Jeremiah Kioni, Isaac Ruto, Najib Balala, Sally Kosgey, James Orengo, Millie Odhiambo, Sofia Abdi, Joseph Nkaisery and Charity Ngilu.

National Assembly Speaker Kenneth Marende said the new team would begin work this week.

“The PSC that we have had the honour to constitute this afternoon will have its first meeting at County Hall on Friday 830 am, among other things to elect the Chair and set the programme of work,” he said.

MPs urged the new team to put the national interest first and disregard party or regional positions.

“I want to ask the team that this constitution is not about the party that picked you or the region that you represent but about Kenya,” said Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire.

Some MPs however raised concerns that the new committee is inconsistent with the Government’s pledge to allocate 30 percent of all appointments to women.

“The new committee has only six women, three short of the one-third threshold that we were seeking.”
The move comes a day after Parliament overwhelmingly passed the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill 2008.

The Bill, which is still awaiting Presidential assent, effectively disbanded the Electoral Commission of Kenya (ECK).

The ECK will be replaced with a nine-member Interim Independent Electoral Commission.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed