Impala and Quins off to Asia

October 29, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, October 29 – Rugby giants Kenya Harlequins and Impala depart on Wednesday evening for the Far East for a season ending tour.

Quins who will be captained by Sidney Ashioya travel to Malaysia where they will take part in the Cobra Tens on November 1 and the Borneo Sevens a week later.

Ashioya makes his return to competitive rugby after an extended period out with a knee injury and leads a side largely made up of campaigners who brought the Kenya Cup back to Ngong Road.

Some of the teams expected to feature in both tournaments are Australian Legends, North Link RFC, Hamilton RFC, South Africa Mustangs (South Africa), Penguins International (England), Borneo Eagles (Malaysia), Fiji Red Rock (Fiji), Canterbury Rugby Union, North Harbour, NS Wanderers, Cobra (Malaysia).

Teams which have already confirmed playing at Borneo Sevens, are Malaysia and Davetalevu (Fiji) although the bulk of the teams in Cobra Tens are expected to make the journey to Petaling Jaya Stadium in Kelenga Jaya.

Impala will field a youthful outfit in the annual Singapore Sevens at the Pedang stadium on November 1-2.

Among the teams, which will be in Singapore, are last year’s champions South African Vipers,  Davetalevu (Fiji), Ponsonby, Oriental Rongotai, Tepapapa Barbarians (New Zealand), Singapore Barbarians, Singapore Cricket Club, Papua New Guinea Rookies, Kurumi, Tamariva (Japan), Casuarina Cougars, Gove NT, Palmyra, Randwick (Australia), Hong Kong Dragons, Thai Barbarians, Arabian Gulf and Scottish Thistles.

Travelling Squads:


George Mwangi Ndemi (Malik), Duncan Otiti Ekasi, Umbuge Kevin, Nato Simiyu, Joshua Gathumbi, Samwel Shikanda, Mose Vincent, Steve Oyaya, Makori Felix, Cyprian Shimenga, Wilson Kopondo

Officials: Bill Odongo (coach), Willy Ombisi (team manager)

Kenya Harlequins:

Sidney Ashioya (captain), Daniel Kiptoo (vice captain), Jude Thumbi (vice captain), Joel Ng’ang’a, Chris Oduor, David Gitau, Ben Weru, Patrice Agunda, Tony Mutai, Vincent Ong’era, Andrew Raudo, Amos Agiro, Peter Abuoga, Leslie Libasia, David Mogere. Reserves: Immanuel Akatsa, Collins Omae, Ben Obengu

Officials: Enos Otieno (team manager/player), Gerald Omondi (physiotherapist), Edward Kinyany (coach).


Latest Articles

News Podcasts