Champions back for more

September 24, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, September 24 – Reigning Schweppes Concours car champion Phoenix Aviation and last year’s overall motorcycle winner Sati Jabbal will defend their titles in this year’s event scheduled for Sunday at Ngong Racecourse.

A 1928 Ford Model A has been completely rebuilt by Phoenix Aviation engineers working in their spare time.

This vintage car will be up against the Ford Model A of John Wroe which is a past Concours winner and his 1934 Rolls Royce boat tail model which is appearing for the first time.

Diccon Wilcock is another contender for outright victory with a 1952 MG TD and a 1934 Railton both of which have been placed first in past years.

Wilcock’s MG is under threat in the sports car class from the 1948 MG TC of Kilifi based enthusiast Brian Barton. His car has been totally restored during the past three years by Rex Beesly at Mtwapa.

The Classic MG is among the exciting new entries which include the TVR Tuscan of Alpine Auto Parts. This limited production British muscle car will be a great attraction on Sunday.

Sati Jabbal will be hoping for a repeat first overall placing with his 1925 DKW bike.

His rivals include the 2004 champion Michael Milner-Smyth, the Chairman of the Vintage Motorcycle Club of South Africa, with a 1916 Triumph and a 1929 Velocette. Karl Pleitz who was placed first in 2005 and Rick Agagliate, the 2006 motorcycle champion are both likely to be on the podium at prize-giving.

Pleitz is pinning his hopes on his 1958 BMW and Rick has entered a fleet of bikes including the 1997 Moto Guzzi GTC which earned him first place in 2006.

With less than a week remaining before the 38th annual vehicle beauty contest organised by the Alfa Romeo Owners Club, competitors are working long hours to complete their Schweppes Concours machines.

In addition they are forming teams and planning costumes to try to win the prizes of fine wines donated by Distell Kenya Limited.

Ian Mbugua and Millicent Ogutu of the Phoenix Theatre will be on the judging line in front of the main Racecourse grandstands to select the five costume prize winners.

Concours competitors are invited to submit their team entries when they visit the event office to collect their final instructions and passes for entry at the Nairobi Racecourse.

Teams may consist of a minimum of three and a maximum of five machines representing manufacturers, clubs, or informal groups.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed