Cavenagh out of the reckoning

September 24, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, September 24 – Alastair Cavenagh has withdrawn from the KCB Savings & Loan Rally set for Oleopolos and Corner Baridi on October 5.

Cavenagh who rolled his Mitsubishi Lancer EVO car after hitting an ant hill in the last round held in Nanyuki, has been unable to repair it in time for the rally.

Andrew Doig who was placed behind him in the rally also hit the same anthill and smashed into the already upside down EVO 8 of Cavenagh demolishing the intact rear end of the car.

Cavenagh is currently ninth on the Kenya National Rally Championships (KNRC)

Uganda’s Emmanuel Katto also fell by the wayside at the S&L rally after rolling in the second last stage after trying to catch up with Azar Anwar.

With Cavenagh out, championship leader Baldev Chager and Lee Rose are expected to renew their cat and mouse game.

The event will be an endurance race on public roads. The first stage between Oloitikosh-Corner Baridi was last used during the 1996 WRC Safari Rally that was punctuated by heavy floods.

The Oletepesi-Najile stage which was last used during the KCB Simba Savings Rally will be repeated twice and so will be Najile-Olepolos.

Rally Director Jim Kahumbura said the route looks fine after a rigorous survey spearheaded by Clerk of the Course Kulwinder Sandhu.

Susheel Shah and Dinesh Sachannia of Landhis Rally team, the Anwar siblings and Sammy Aslam will also be gunning for points as the championship winds up with two legs to go.

Two wheel drive leader Charles Hinga continues his quest to become the first rookie winner of the category where he faces stiff challenge from Leo Varese in a VW Golf and Leamy Karienye who are second and third respectively in the 2WD standings.

The rally will be flagged off on October 5 outside the KCB Kawangware branch.


1.       Baldev Chager (Triton Sports)  355

2.       Carl Tundo (Dalbit)                   255

3.       Lee Rose (Triton Sports)          250

4.       Azar Anwar (Oilibya Team)      222

5.       Asad Anwar (Oilibya Team)     160

6.       Quentin Mitchell (McDonald)    110

7.       Susheel Shah (Landis Team)  103

8.       Anthony Nielsen (Safaricom)   101

9.       Alastair Cavenagh (Dalbit)        90

10.    Don Smith (Fly 540 Team)         73



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed