Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Relatives set to inherit Sotik and Bomet seats

NAIROBI, August 30 – Beatrice Kones and Joyce Laboso have been nominated to represent the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) in next month’s Bomet and Sotik parliamentary by-election after beating their opponents by a wide margin in party nominations held Friday.

In Bomet, Beatrice, a widow to the late Roads Minister Kipkalya Kones emerged winner with 21,386 votes with her closest contender Stephen Mutai scoring a distant 5,348 votes.

Other contestants for the ticket included Paul Chirchir who garnered 3,343 votes and former Provincial Commissioner Nehemiah Ng`eno who managed a paltry 419 votes. 

Former MP Nick Salat is expected to get a direct nomination from KANU while United Democratic Movement (UDM) is yet to announce its candidate for the seat.

In Sotik, Laboso a sister to the late area MP Lornah Laboso defeated former Nairobi Provincial Commissioner Francis Sigei after garnering 17,045 votes against 6,085 votes while Stanley Rotich came third with 3,142 votes.

Alexander Sitienei was fourth with 2,068 votes while former MP Antony Kimetto came a distant fifth with a total of 1,585 votes in a contest that attracted 13 aspirants.

Dr Joyce Laboso joins Eunice Chebet Kipng’eny who has been cleared by the Party of National Unity to vie for the Sotik seat.

Political pundits familiar with area politics feel that two ladies nominees might face a stiff challenge from candidates who will be fielded by UDM which is being modelled into a political vehicle for the region.

However, ODM still maintains substantial political goodwill in the region coupled with sympathy votes following the tragic plane crash.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Prime Minister Raila Odinga stamped Beatrice’s nomination during the burial of her husband.

“Kones was a lion and a lion’s wife is also equal to the task,” he said.

The constituencies were left without representation after the death of the legislators in a plane crash on June 10.

Electoral Commission of Kenya is set to receive the nomination certificates on September 1 and 2.

The by-election is scheduled to be held on September 25.


More on Capital News