Humanitarian Law committee gazetted

August 24, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, August 24 – The Attorney General has instituted a new committee on the implementation of International Humanitarian Law that will be headed by the Solicitor General, Wanjuki Muchemi.

In a gazette notice, Amos Wako named the committee whose Secretariat would be based at the State Law Office.

The committee constitutes seven Permanent Secretaries from the Ministries of Defence, Internal Security and Provincial Administration, Information and Communication, Education, Foreign Affairs and Medical Services.

Commissioners of police and the prisons, or their representatives, were also listed as members, alongside the head of the regional delegation of the International Committee of the Red Cross, ICRC.

In addition, the Director General of the Kenya Red Cross Society is listed as a member together with three individuals: Dr Mohammed Said, Elizabeth Muli and Patrick Maluki have been gazetted.

The committee’s terms of reference include coordinating and monitoring international humanitarian law in Kenya and advising the government on instruments that need to be ratified.

It is also mandated to review the existing legislation and recommend amendments or new legislation where necessary, and also suggest administrative measures that may be required.

It is further authorised to undertake or commission research and or development in international humanitarian law, and make appropriate recommendations to the government.

“In the execution of its terms of reference, the committee shall with the approval of the Attorney General have the power to source for additional funding and do or perform such other things or acts that are necessary or expedient for their mandate,” the gazette notice stated.

The committee has however been bestowed with the power to co-opt or appoint nominees, with Wako’s approval, as it deems fit for specialised aspects of its work.

It shall in the execution of its mandate submit to the AG its annual report, not later than December 31.

Meanwhile in the same gazette notice, Tourism Minister Najib Balala has appointed ten members to head the Kenya Tourist Board.

They include Abdul Samji, Betty Radier, Tasneem Asdamji, Wilfred Ole Kina, Lucy Karume, Khalid Shapi, Duncan Muriuki, JS Vohra, Titus Naikuni and Julius Kipngetich.

The members are expected to serve for a period of three years, effective July 18, 2008.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed