Tusker face Yanga

July 24, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, July 24 – Tusker Coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee said Thursday that his side will approach their East and Central (CECAFA) Club Cup Championship semi final clash against Yanga on Friday with caution.

Mulee said that their opponents will enjoy home advantage noting that it is always difficult to beat clubs that have massive following at home like Yanga.

But the Kenya Premier League champions will have confidence especially as they beat another Tanzania giant Simba SC in the tournament’s opening match last week.

Mulee will again call on his impressive central midfield pairing of skipper Jeff Oyando and Osborne Monday while his attack will be led by John Keo, Edward Kauka, Simon Mburu and Daniel Matengo.

Boniface Otieno who was the star of their shootout victory over Rayon Sport in the quarters will be in goal with Ibrahim Shikanda, John Njoroge, Joseph Shikokoti and Humphrey Okoti keeping their places in defence.

While Yanga can count on home ground to go into the match with confidence, they will be aware that Tusker is no pushovers and will give this match everything they have.

Yanga tactician Dusan Kondic from Serbia has alternated his highly rated goalkeepers Juma Kaseja and Ivo Mapunda every match and if he has to continue with that format, then Mapunda will start in goal against Tusker.

Fred Mbuna, Nurdin Bakari, Kenyan George Owino and Zambian Wisdom Ndhlovu have been strong in their defence.

Kigi Makasi, Geoffrey Bonny and Shamte Alley are their men in midfield while the attack will be spearheaded by Kenyan Bonface Ambani, Mrisho Ngassa and Shamte Ally.

Yanga reached the semis after beating Vital’O from Burundi 2-0 while Tusker hit Rayon Sports from Rwanda 7-6 on penalties.

Both teams are in the money bracket as the tournament is sponsored by Rwanda President Paul Kagame to the tune of US$60,000 in prize money.

The tournament’s winner gets US$30,000, (Ksh 2,000,000) the runner up US$20,000 (Ksh 1,300,000) while the third placed team gets US$10,000 (Ksh 670,000).

Tusker has won this tournament four times, as Breweries in 1988, and as Tusker in 1989, 2000 and 2001.

As for the Dar es Salaam Young Africans side, who have won the tournament three times in 1975, 1993 and 1999.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed