Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


Sevens rugby team named

NAIROBI, June 18 – National sevens rugby coach Benjamin Ayimba has made six changes to the team ahead of the forthcoming Tusker Safari Sevens tournament.

Skipper Humphrey Kayange, Innocent Simiyu, Victor Sudi, Victor Oduor, Collins Injera are all back in the squad while Moses Mwole is set to make his debut in team that almost unrecognizable from the one that fared poorly in London and Edinburgh.

Kayange and Oduor missed the final two IRB rounds due an injury while speedster Injera had school commitments.  Simiyu and his elder brother Sudi had work commitments.

Kenya’s B side, Shujaa will be skippered by Allan Makaka assisted by Nato Simiyu.

Owen Ocholla, George Malik Ndemi, Mathew Musita and Samuel Wefwafwa are set to wear the Kenyan colours for the first time.

Philip Moturi makes a comeback after more than a year out.

Kenya Rugby Football Union secretary Frank Sabwa said: “The team is a reflection of some daring exposure for new players and positional changes on others as we look towards the RWC7s qualifiers and next season in the IRB series.”

The three day tournament will start on Friday and end Sunday.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Team Kenya: Humphrey Kayange (Mwamba, captain), Lavin Asego (Mwamba, vice captain), Allan Onyango (Kenya Harlequin FC), Innocent Simiyu (Impala), Victor Sudi (Quins), Victor Oduor (Mwamba), Joshua Gathumbi (Strathmore University), Moses Mwole (Impala), Biko Adema (Nondescripts), Bryan Nyikuli (Impala), Collins Injera, Horace Otieno (Mwamba). Officials: Benjamin Ayimba (coach), Oscar Osir (manager), George Odhiambo (physio), Bill Odongo (liaison).

Shujaa: Allan Makaka (Kenya Harlequin FC, captain), Nato Simiyu (Impala, vice captain), Philip Moturi (Strathmore University), Leon Adongo (Quins), Mathew Musita (Mombasa Sports Club), Wilson Kopondo (Mean Machine), Andrew Amonde (Kenya Commercial Bank), Owen Ocholla (Impala), George Mbaye (Mwamba), Naftali Bondo (Impala), Samuel Wefwafwa (Kenya Commercial Bank), George Malik Ndemi (Impala). Officials: Felix Ochieng (coach), Newton Ong’alo (manager), Chris Makachia (physio)

Click to comment

More on Capital News