Pre Olympics training camp set to open

May 20, 2008 12:00 am

, NAIROBI, May 19 – Arrangements are complete for the pre-Olympics training camp for 120 runners selected by Athletics Kenya (AK) last week.

AK secretary General David Okeyo told Capital Sport on Monday that athletes who reside outside Eldoret will converge at Sirikwa Hotel at 10am on Tuesday.

From there, they will proceed to the IAAF High Performance Training Centre at Kazi Mingi farm. The athletes will be training at Moi University’s Chepkoilel campus.

“Athletes will meet at Sirikwa from where we will all move to the High Performance Centre. But athletes who are currently in Eldoret should just proceed to the centre,” he said.

The sprinters, walkers and field event athletes will be training at the Nyayo National stadium.

The National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOCK) will fund the training camp to the tune of Sh2 million.

“We requested NOCK for assistance to prepare the team and they have agreed to pay for the team’s accommodation and food. AK on the other hand will cater for the allowances,” said AK chairman Isaiah Kiplagat.

The decision to have the athletes in a training camp had been arrived at after a meeting of local coaches, which had been convened to help prepare for the games in China.

There however has been mixed reactions from athletes over the proposed camp with some saying it would not be feasible.

Among the athletes included in the list are World 800 metres champion Janeth Jepkosgei, Africa 800 metres champion Pamela Jelimo, World 5,000 metres silver medallist Vivian Cheruiyot, Priscah Cherono, Viola Kibiwott, Eunice Jepkorir and Edith Masai.

Others include; World 800 metres champion Alfred Kirwa, Africa and World Junior champion David Rudisha, Commonwealth champion Alex Kipchirchir, Africa 1500 metres champion Haron Keitany, World 3,000 metres steeplechase Brimin Kipruto, Africa champion Richard Mateelong, World Cross Country silver medallist Leonard Patrick Komon and Moses Masai.

The athletes will be handled by a team of 18 led by Kirwa. Other coaches include Paul Mutwii, Patrick Sang, Moses Kiptanui, Boniface Tiren, Caroline Kola, Jospeh Mosonik, David Lamai, George Kariuki, Joseph Chelimo, David Leting, Steven Mwaniki, John Anzrah and Pater Mathu.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed