#Travel: Eco Warrior Awards 2016 nominees unveiled

PHOTO: Susan Wong
PHOTO: Susan Wong

Ecotourism Kenya has released the long list of nominees who will be contesting for the Eco Warrior Awards in 2016. The Award ceremony is held annually to recognize exceptional achievers in ecotourism best practices in Kenya.

The Ecotourism Awards recognizes efforts, innovations and exceptional achievements for promoting responsible tourism and enhancing tourism sustainability which directly conserves the natural environment linked to local communities through mutually beneficial and equitable partnerships.

Aiming to celebrate ecotourism best practises in different tourism sectors and tourism set ups in Kenya, Ecotourism Awards truly recognizes these unsung heroes and heroines for their efforts to promote responsible and sustainable tourism in Kenya.

To recognize the winners, Ecotourism Kenya is partnering with Kenya Tourism Board and will host the 11th Edition of the Eco-Warriors Award Ceremony & Gala Night on the theme Sustainable Tourism: Our Diversity, Our Strength on 14th October 2016 at the newest 5-Star Hotel in Nairobi – Radisson Blu – Upperhill.

Here are this year’s Eco Warrior Awards’ nominees:

2016 Private Conservancy of the Year Award

  1. Kaimosi Conservancy- Kakamega
  2. Borana Conservancy- Laikipia North
  3. Galana Conservancy – Watamu
  4. Ol Pejeta Conservancy- Laikipia
  5. Ol Jogi Conservancy- Laikipia County
  6. Tsavo Conservancy- Taita Taveta county

2016 Community Conservancy of the Year Award

  1. Ol Kinyei Conservancy – Masai Mara
  2. Olderkesi Conservancy –Narok County
  3. Ole Lentile Trust – Laikipia North
  4. Lower Tana Delta – Tana River County
  5. Tawi Conservancy –Amboseli

2016 Ecotourism Decorated Facility of the Year – Lodge

  1. Elkarama Eco-lodge – Nanyuki (Laikipia County)
  2. Olare Kempinski- Olare Motorogi Conservancy
  3. Tawi lodge –Kilotome Conservancy (Kajiado County)
  4. Ol Tukai Lodge- Amboseli National Park 
  5. Sirikoi Lodge – Lewa Wildlife Conservancy ( Nanyuki)
  6. Saasab Lodge- Westgate conservancy ( Samburu County)

2016 Ecotourism Ecorated Facility of the Year – Tented Camp

  1. Porini Amboseli Camp – Amboseli ( Kajiado County)
  2. Cottars 1920’s Safari Camp – Olderkesi Community Ranch (Narok County)
  3. Samburu Intrepids – Samburu county
  4. Mara Plains Tented Camp – Mara National Reserve
  5. Ekorian’s Mugie Camp – Rumuruti ( Laikipia County)
  6. Serena Sweetwaters Tented Camp – Nanyuki (Laikipia County)
  7. Lake Elementaita Serena Camp – Soysambu Gilgil
  8. Basecamp Masai Mara – Masai Mara

2016 Ecotourism Ecorated Facility of the Year – Hotel/Serviced Apartment

  1. Serena Beach Hotel & Spa – Mombasa
  2. Turtle Bay Beach Club – Watamu
  3. Medina Palms – Watamu (Kilifi County)
  4. Baobab Beach Resort and Spa- Diani Beach (Kwale County)

2016 Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year – Community Based

  1. Kakamega Environmental Education Program- Kakamega Forest
  2. Kijabe Environmental Volunteer Organization (KENVO) – Kereita Forest
  3. Mlilo Community Based Tourism Association – Malindi
  4. Dabaso Community – Watamu

2016 Ecotourism Tours and Travel of the Year

  1. Mlilo Community Tours and Safaris Limited- Malindi
  2. Gamewatchers Safaris – Nairobi, Gigiri
  3. Bonfire Adventures- Nairobi
  4. Pollmans Tours and Safaris Ltd – Mombasa
  5. Uniglobe Let’s Go Travel –Nairobi

2016 Ecotourism Guide of the Year

  1. Paul Kirui- Masai Mara – Vulture Researcher and conservation trainer
  2. Philip Kibet Rono – MICATO Safaris
  3. Amos Njoroge Njege – Solio Lodge
  4. Joseph Kang’ethe – Mara Intrepids

2016 Ecotourism Journalist of the Year

  1. Thorn Muli –Standard Media Group
  2. Susan Wong- Capital FM
  3. Irene Muchuma – KBC
  4. Henry Kimathi –Enchanted landscapes
  5. Peter Muiruri – Standard Media Group
  6. Mark Ten- Thekenyancamper.com

2016 Ecotourism Training Program of the Year

  1. Technical University of Kenya – Nairobi
  2. Kenya Wildlife Training Institute (KWSTI ) Naivasha
  3. Koiyaki Guiding School – Naboisho Conservancy( Masai Mara)
  4. Moi University –Eldoret
  5. Amboseli Institute of Hospitality and Technology –Thika

2016 Ecotourism Airline of the Year

  1. Safarilink Aviation
(Visited 429 times, 1 visits today)