#WorldHeritageDay: 24 sites you need to visit in Kenya

Mount Kenya National Park/Natural Forest
Mount Kenya National Park/Natural Forest

Happy World Heritage Day!

18th of April was designated as the International Day for Monuments and Sites in 1983 at the 22nd UNESCO General Conference.

Today celebrates the diversity of the world’s heritage, efforts to protect and conserve them, and also to build awareness of their vulnerability.

Here are 24 sites in Kenya you should visit:

In Kenya, there are currently six properties inscribed on the World Heritage List:


  • Fort Jesus, Mombasa(2011)
  • Lamu Old Town(2001)
  • Sacred Mijikenda Kaya Forests(2008)


  • Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley(2011)
  • Lake Turkana National Parks(1997)
  • Mount Kenya National Park/Natural Forest(1997)


Eighteen properties have also been submitted on the Tentative List for consideration:

  • Mombasa Old Town (1997)
  • Lake Nakuru National Park (1999)
  • Lake Naivasha (1999)
  • Lake Bogoria National Reserve (1999)
  • The Historic Town of Gedi (2010)
  • The Mfangano-Rusinga Island Complex (2010)
  • The African Great Rift Valley – The Marakwet Escarpment Furrow Irrigation System (2010)
  • The Thimlich Ohinga Cultural Landscape (2010)
  • The African Great Rift Valley – Olorgesailie Prehistoric Site (2010)
  • Aberdare Mountains (2010)
  • The Eastern Arc Coastal Forests (Arabuko-Sokoke Forest and Shimba Hills National Reserve) (2010)
  • The Kakemega Forest (2010)
  • The Meru Conservation Area (2010)
  • The African Great Rift Valley – Hell’s Gate National Park (2010)
  • The African Great Rift Valley – The Maasai Mara (2010)
  • The Great Rift Valley – The Kenya Lakes System (2010)
  • The Tana Delta and Forests Complex (2010)
  • Tsavo Parks and Chyulu Hills Complex (2010)
(Visited 75 times, 1 visits today)