Drake takes home four BET Hip Hop Awards


Drake scooped four BET Hip Hop Awards at the annual ceremony. 

The 27-year-old rapper stole the show at the event in Atlanta, Georgia – which took place last month but only aired on TV last night (15.10.14), picking up Best Hip Hop Video for ‘Worst Behavior’, Best Live Performer, People’s Champ Award and Album of the Year for ‘Nothing Was The Same’.

Rapper DJ Mustard – real name Dijon McFarlane – also picked up three awards for MVP of the Year, Producer of the Year and DJ of the Year, while Kendrick Lamar and YG’s collaboration with Jeezy and Rich Homie Quan picked up two accolades each.

The ‘Never Catch Me’ singer bagged Lyricist of the Year and Best Feature Verse for ‘Control’, while the trio picked up the gong for Best Collaboration, Duo or Group and Track of the Year for ‘My N***a’.

Other winners on the night included Wiz Khalifa, who won Best Mixtape for ’28 Grams’, Iggy Azalea took home the Who Blew Up Award, Nicki Minaj bagged the Made You Look Award and Dr Dre was crowned Hustler of the Year.

The show also featured performances from Brandy, YG and MC Lyte and included a surprise announcement from Bow Wow’s girlfriend Erica Mena, who revealed the happy couple had got engaged. 

When asked if the rapper was her boyfriend, the brunette beauty replied: “He’s actually my fiance.” 

The full list of BET Hip Hop Award winners:


Album of the Year: Drake, ‘Nothing Was the Same’

Best Club Banger: Future, ‘Move That Dope’

Best Collab, Duo or Group: YG featuring Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, ‘My N***a’

Best Hip Hop Video: Drake, ‘Worst Behavior’

Best Live Performer: Drake

Best Mixtape: Wiz Khalifa, 28 Grams

DJ of the Year: DJ Mustard

Hustler of the Year: Dr. Dre

Impact Track: Common featuring Vince Staples, ‘Kingdom’

Lyricist of the Year: Kendrick Lamar

Made You Look Award: Nicki Minaj

MVP of the Year: DJ Mustard

Producer of the Year: DJ Mustard

Sweet 16: Best Feature Verse: Kendrick Lamar, ‘Contro’

Track of the Year: YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, ‘My N***a’

Video Director of the Year: Hype Williams

Who Blew Up Award: Iggy Azalea

People’s Champ Award: Drake

Best Hip Hop Online: WorldStarHipHop

(Visited 75 times, 1 visits today)