The complete list of the 9th annual Safaricom Groove Awards 2014 winners


The 9th annual Safaricom Groove Awards went down last Sunday the 1st of June at a spectacular gala at the KICC lawns. This year’s theme was “let your light shine” and the event saw DJ Soxxy and the beautiful NTV news presenter Victoria Rubadiri play hosts. The pair did a great job keeping the audience entertained. The presenter of the awards also got creative as they found ways to leave the guests in stitches before awarding winners from the different categories.

For the seventh year running Safaricom was back as the awards main sponsor. In attendance was Cabinet Secretary for Devolution Anne Waiguru and Dennis Itumbi who both came bearing gifts from the president. Kshs. 1 million was donated by the president to all winners  who will have to choose which charity the money will go to.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to the late Peter Kaberere and was received by his widow Njeri . Kaberere got a special tribute and was feted for his work in the gospel industry.

The Best female and male artists each went home with a whooping Ksh200,000, Samsung galaxy s5 and Ksh20,000 worth of phone airtime.

Below is the complete list of the winners

Collabo of the Year – Ngai Ti Mundu by Betty Bayo ft Mr. Seed

Western Song of the Year – Khwekanile by Geoffrey Kwatemba

East and Central Africa Artiste of the Year  – Solomon Mkubwa

Central Song of the Year – Busy Busy by Betty Bayo

Ragga/ Reggae song of the Year – Live up by Hopekid

Western African Artiste of the Year – Uche

Audio Producer of the Year Jacky B

Nyanza Song of the Year Christine Otieno

Southern Africa artiste of the Year  – Pompi

Lifetime Achievement Award  – the Late Peter Kaberere

Radio Presenter of the Year  – And the Radio Presenter of the Year is Anthony Ndiema of Radio Maisha

Album of the year – Kirathimo

Pwani Song of the Year – Ahadi za Bwana by Pastor Anthony Musembi

Dance Group of the YearGospel Warriors

Rift Valley Song of the Year – Laleiyo by Shiro Wa GP and L Jay Maasai

Video of the Year – Mateke

Worship Song of the Year  – Hakuna Silaha by Sarah K.

Songwriter of the Year – Sarah K.

Eastern Song of the YearKitole by Stephen Kasolo

Hip Hop Song of the Year – Wannabe” by Dee and Holy Dave

Video Producer of the Year  – Sammy Dee

Gospel Radio Show of the Year – Gospel Sunday

DJ of the Year  – DJ Mo

Gospel TV Show of the Year NTV Crossover

New Artiste of the Year  – L Jay Maasai

Skiza RBT of the YearLoise Kim

Group of the Year – Nicholas Harmonies

Song of the Year   – Lingala ya Yesu by Pitson

Outstanding Contributor to Industry  – B.A Kanyotu

Female Artiste of the Year  – Sarah K.

Male Artiste of the Year Bahati

(Visited 93 times, 1 visits today)