‘Slave,’ ‘Gravity’ take top honors at critics’ awards

12 years a slave critics choice movie awards

Harrowing historical drama “12 Years a Slave” won best picture at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards late Thursday, while 3D space spectacular “Gravity” took seven prizes.

“American Hustle” — which earlier in the day shared top Oscar nominations with “Gravity” — won four prizes, including best comedy and best actress in a comedy for Amy Adams.

“12 Years a Slave,” about a free black man sold into slavery in 1840s America, won best supporting actress for Lupita Nyong’o and best adapted screenplay for John Ridley.

The record seven prizes for “Gravity” included best director for Mexico’s Alfonso Cuaron and best actress in an action movie for Sandra Bullock, who plays an astronaut stranded in space with George Clooney.

Its haul topped six Critic’s Movie Award gongs won by 2010’s “Inception” and 2009’s “Avatar.”

The awards, sponsored by the Broadcast Film Critics Association, were presented at a show in Santa Monica, west of Los Angeles where the Golden Globes were held on Sunday and the Oscars will be held on March 2.

Here are the winners in the main categories:

Best picture: “12 Years a Slave.”

Best actor: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club.”

Best actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best supporting actor Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club.”

Best supporting actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave.”

Best young actor/actress: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is the Warmest Color.”

Best director: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity.”

Best foreign language film: “Blue is the Warmest Color.”

(Visited 17 times, 1 visits today)