Channel O awards countdown begins!

Final touches are being made to the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg ahead of the 2011 Channel O Music Video Awards on Friday night.

Most of the performers and nominees from around Africa will make their way to South Africa by Wednesday to start rigorous rehearsals for the event which kicks off at 1830hrs on November 11.

Among the performers for the long night where about 14 categories will be awarded are Ugandans Keko and Navio, CRISIS from Zambia, Nigeria’s Ice Prince and DJ Cleo (SA).

The show’s executive producer Glenn van Loggerenberg says they’re pushing the entertainment envelope to the limit.

“In 2011 we are back with an entirely fresh staging concept and knockout line-up of talent. Audiences can look forward to all the entertainment value and innovation associated with Channel O at this glamorous event!” he promised.

VIP access will be the most coveted area of the night apart from the stage itself.

Kenyan nominees for Most Gifted East Africa Video P-Unit will not be in attendance as they have three shows lined up in Tanzania over the weekend.

“We will be performing at the str8muzik music festival intercollege special and unfortunately will not be able to attend,” said band member Frasha to Capital Lifestyle.

But rapper Collo, in the Most Gifted Hip Hop Video category says he will touch down at the OR Tambo airport on Friday.

Other Kenyans in the nominations list at STL, whose song Lookie Lookie is sending heat-waves around Africa; Nazizi and Wyre featuring Cecile.

Another two Kenyans Kibiru Muthaka and Dennis Mithamo Kariuki will be rubbing shoulders with African music elite after winning an all expenses paid trip to watch the Channel O action.

Dennis and Kibiru will also visit Sun City as part of their winnings, on a two-day trip organized by South Africa Tourism.

Capital FM Hits not Homework Presenter Joey Muthengi says the winners were picked randomly after a week-long competition, where contestants were meant to log on to the Channel O website and vote for their favourite nominees.

“Though Kenya has received a number of MTV awards, we always miss out on the Channel O awards, because Kenyans don’t vote!! I hope this year will be different,” said Joey.

Nigerian musician and entrepreneur Banky W will host the awards alongside South African beauty Dineo.

At this year’s event, in association with Hyundai, the self-proclaimed African Michael Jackson D’Banj will receive the Special Recognition award due his massive influence in the music landscape.

Past recipients of the award include K’naan and the late Brenda Fassie.

(Visited 89 times, 1 visits today)