Winners at the Kalasha Awards


September 28, 2010 – It was all about celebrating cultural diversity through film at the 2nd edition of the Kalasha Film and Television awards held at the KICC on Saturday night.

The event was well attended and was complete with the usual red carpet, limousines, a mabati background…the whole shebang! – those usually expected at such events.

What made it different was the presence of Cabinet Ministers all in dress code (African attire). Finance Minister Uhuru Kenyatta, Information and Communication Minister Samuel Poghisio and his Permanent Secretary Bitange Ndemo, Prof. Anyang’ Nyong’o and PLO Lumumba were at the venue and all endorsed the continuity of awards of that ilk to help motivate Kenyans to tell their stories.

Uhuru praised broadcasters for supporting local content and said the film industry had the potential of providing Kenyan youth with employment.

Oliver Litondo, who acts as Mzee Kimani Maruge in The First Grader was honoured with the award of lifetime achievement.

Soul Boy, with the most nominations, scooped the Best Short Film while Samson Odhiambo and Billy Kahora received Best Lead Actor and Best Scriptwriter for their roles in the film that was shot entirely in Kibera.

K24 earned recognition for its role in promoting local content and their very own Jeff Koinange won the Best TV Host for his show Capital Talk.


Besides winning the best actor in a TV series, Charles Bukeko aka  Papa Shirandula won the Best Comedy and Kenneth Gichoya won for Best Performance in a comedy for his portrayal of Njoro.

Wanuri Kahiu earned the title Best Director once again as Carole Gikandi Omondi won for Best Editing.

Other winners of the Kalasha 2010 include:

Film Award winners

Best Feature Film – Ndoto za Elibidi- Nick Reding

Best Local Language film– Mwanake Don’t Care

Best Documentary film
– A History of Film

Supporting Actor – Geoffery Jefferson Ong’ongo- Togetherness Supreme

Lead Actress –  Lucy Nyaga- Shida

Supporting Actress – Ummul Rajab- Ndoto za Elibidi


Television Award winners

Best TV Drama – Changing Times

Best Actress – Elizabeth Wanjiru Bageine- Mother in Law

Best Documentary
– Headlines in History

Best Student Film– Lumbasi

Best Student Documentary -Forgotten

For the full list of winners visit:

(Visited 209 times, 1 visits today)