Statement by State House spokesperson on changes in government


His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta regrets to announce the resignation, on personal grounds, of Major-General Michael Gichangi as Director-General of the National Intelligence Service.
Gichangi had a distinguished and colourful career spanning four decades in Kenya’s defence forces, where he rose through the ranks to Major-General. The much-decorated Major-General Gichangi was appointed to head Kenya’s intelligence gathering in 2006 for a five-year term. His term in office was renewed in 2011.


He has played his role as Director-General of NIS with commitment, dedication and professionalism, for which our country is grateful.
His Excellency the President thanks Major-General for his distinguished service to the country.
His Excellency the President has asked Major-General Gichangi to remain in his role until a replacement is nominated.

To enhance service delivery, the President said it had become necessary to realign the assignment of portfolio responsibilities of the Government as contained in Executive Order No. 2 (2013). In this regard, the President has made the following changes.
Amb. Dr Monica Juma – Department of Interior
Mr Mutea Iringo – Ministry of Defence
Mr Patrick Omutia – Ministry of Mining
Amb. Richard Etai Titus – Ministry of Sports, Culture and the Arts
Ms Mwanamaka Amani Mabruki – Ministry of Devolution
Amb. John Konchella – Department of East African Community
Dr Khadijah Kassachoon – Ministry of Health
Prof. Fred HK Segor – Department of Livestock

3. Nominations and Transfers of Ambassadors
His Excellency the President has nominated the following persons to the post of Ambassador our missions abroad.
Robinson Githae – Washington DC
Chirau Ali Makwere – Dar es Salaam
Kiema Kilonzo – Ankara, Turkey
Sam Ongeri – Habitat
Richard Opembe – Dublin
Mohammud Mohammed – Riyadh
Lucy Chelimo – Ottawa
Dr George Masafu – Kinshasa
Professor Bitok – Khartoum
Joseph Magut- Berlin
Major-General Jeoff Otieno – Cairo
Galma M Boru – Doha
Isaac Njenga – Windhoek
Sheikh Dor – Muscat
Dr Karau – Geneva
Sophie Kadzo Kombo – Lusaka
Rukia Sugow – Tehran

His Excellency the President has transferred the following Ambassadors and diplomats to new stations.
Amb Mohamed Gello – Seoul
Amb Lazarus Amayo – London
Amb John Lanasunya – Algiers
Amb Ali Abbas – Kuwait
Amb SK Maina – Tokyo
Lemorashira – Harare
Joseph Maikara – Luanda
Jean Kamau – Bangkok

His Excellency the President has made the following appointments of Deputy Ambassadors/Deputy Heads of Mission.
Bellianda Achieng Omino – New Delhi
Aggrey Shitsama – Station to be announced
Jane Waikenda – Pretoria

3 Replies to “Statement by State House spokesperson on changes in government”

  1. some kenyan beauty and hair crimes pls!!!
    one of them is those ever perennial braids that never leave some peoples heads.. and they start to smell wierd..

  2. This time round the appointments appear to have the face of Kenya. The president should be congratulated on this, the only problems is recycling of politicians such as Mwakwere, Githae and company.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hit enter to search or ESC to close