Statement by State House spokesperson on changes in government



His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta regrets to announce the resignation, on personal grounds, of Major-General Michael Gichangi as Director-General of the National Intelligence Service.
Gichangi had a distinguished and colourful career spanning four decades in Kenya’s defence forces, where he rose through the ranks to Major-General. The much-decorated Major-General Gichangi was appointed to head Kenya’s intelligence gathering in 2006 for a five-year term. His term in office was renewed in 2011.


He has played his role as Director-General of NIS with commitment, dedication and professionalism, for which our country is grateful.
His Excellency the President thanks Major-General for his distinguished service to the country.
His Excellency the President has asked Major-General Gichangi to remain in his role until a replacement is nominated.

To enhance service delivery, the President said it had become necessary to realign the assignment of portfolio responsibilities of the Government as contained in Executive Order No. 2 (2013). In this regard, the President has made the following changes.
Amb. Dr Monica Juma – Department of Interior
Mr Mutea Iringo – Ministry of Defence
Mr Patrick Omutia – Ministry of Mining
Amb. Richard Etai Titus – Ministry of Sports, Culture and the Arts
Ms Mwanamaka Amani Mabruki – Ministry of Devolution
Amb. John Konchella – Department of East African Community
Dr Khadijah Kassachoon – Ministry of Health
Prof. Fred HK Segor – Department of Livestock

3. Nominations and Transfers of Ambassadors
His Excellency the President has nominated the following persons to the post of Ambassador our missions abroad.
Robinson Githae – Washington DC
Chirau Ali Makwere – Dar es Salaam
Kiema Kilonzo – Ankara, Turkey
Sam Ongeri – Habitat
Richard Opembe – Dublin
Mohammud Mohammed – Riyadh
Lucy Chelimo – Ottawa
Dr George Masafu – Kinshasa
Professor Bitok – Khartoum
Joseph Magut- Berlin
Major-General Jeoff Otieno – Cairo
Galma M Boru – Doha
Isaac Njenga – Windhoek
Sheikh Dor – Muscat
Dr Karau – Geneva
Sophie Kadzo Kombo – Lusaka
Rukia Sugow – Tehran

His Excellency the President has transferred the following Ambassadors and diplomats to new stations.
Amb Mohamed Gello – Seoul
Amb Lazarus Amayo – London
Amb John Lanasunya – Algiers
Amb Ali Abbas – Kuwait
Amb SK Maina – Tokyo
Lemorashira – Harare
Joseph Maikara – Luanda
Jean Kamau – Bangkok

His Excellency the President has made the following appointments of Deputy Ambassadors/Deputy Heads of Mission.
Bellianda Achieng Omino – New Delhi
Aggrey Shitsama – Station to be announced
Jane Waikenda – Pretoria

Hit enter to search or ESC to close