Home > Featured > EAC launches Inter-University social media challenge

EAC launches Inter-University social media challenge


Ministry of EAC goes digital in reaching out to university students on EAC integration.


The Ministry of East Africa Community in partnership with East African Community Students Union (EASCU) has kicked off an Inter-University Social media challenge in 13 universities in Kenya.


The campaign dubbed Connect, Vuka Border is the first of its kind in Kenya and the East Africa region as it will be purely on social and digital media, specifically Facebook and Twitter and will involve thirteen major universities in Kenya.


“The university challenge comes at time that MEAC has embarked on a campaign to educate Kenyans on the benefits of integration and the progress made so far in making integration a reality,” said the Minister for East Africa Community Hon. Musa Sirma during the launch at The Multimedia University College East Africa.


Students will hold a one week long sensitization campaigns at their respective institutions under the theme Connect, Interact, Integrate.


The activities of each universities will be uploaded on EAC Social Media accounts – Facebook page ‘Connect Vuka Border’ and twitter handle @cvukaborder.


The winning university will  have its champions win a fully paid tour round the five partner states of East Africa  where they will visit major universities in Rwanda, Uganda, Burundi and Tanzania and blogging about their experience around East Africa, different cultures of the East African people and the progress made in the other Partner States to make integration a reality.


“This is an exciting campaign whereby we are engaging the students on social media to constructively discuss what can build them. We are fortunate that this is coming when Kenya has just been appointed to head the EASCU in recent election in Arusha,” said the EACSU president George Yogo


The social media drive aims to educate the youth on the integration process, raise awareness on the benefits they stand to gain from it and report on the progress made so far in making it a reality.


At the end of the EAC week, the 13 universities through EASCU will petition their respective Vice Chancellors to entrench EAC week in the universities calenders.


The participating universities are; the University of Nairobi, Kenyatta University, Daystar University, African Nazarene, Kenya Methodist University, Kenya Polytchenic University College, Multi Media University of Kenya, Egerton, Maseno University, Catholic University of East Africa, KCA, Moi University, USIU and Strathmore.


Capital Campus
Get all the info you need about campuses and colleges in Kenya and beyond. Jobs, internships, college sports, career advice, student politics and leadership, finances and much more