Moi University

Moi University

Year of Establishment: 1984

Type of Establishment [Public/Private] Public

Brief History:

Moi University is a public university located in the town of Eldoret in western Kenya. It was the second public university to be established in Kenya, after the University of Nairobi. It is one of seven fully fledged public institutions of higher learning in Kenya (others being the University of Nairobi, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Maseno University, Egerton University, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology and Kenyatta University). It was established in 1984 by the Moi University Act of Parliament after recommendations from the Mackay Commission.

Current Vice Chancellor: Professor Richard Kiprono Mibey


  • Main
    • Privately Sponsored Students Programme (PSSP)
  • Odera Akang’o Campus in Yala, Kenya
  • Town Campus, including:
    • College of Health Sciences Medical Complex
    • School of Aerospace Sciences (Riva text)
    • School of Law (Annex)

Student Population : 24,574


Courses offered

School of Engineering

  • Eng. in Civil and Structural Engineering
  • B. Eng. in Mechanical and Production Engineering
  • B. Eng. in Industrial and Textile Engineering
  • B. Eng. in Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • B. Eng. in Electrical and Telecommunications Engineering
  • B. Eng. in Chemical and Process Engineering

School of Education

  • Bachelor of Education [Arts]
  • Bachelor of Education [Education Science]
  • Bachelor of Education [Technology Education]
  • Bachelor of Education [Guidance and Counseling]
  • Bachelor of Education [Early Childhood and Primary Education]

School of Medicine

  • Bachelor of Medicine
  • Bachelor of Surgery
  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • Bachelor of Physical Therapy
  • Bachelor of Medical Psychology

Link to Official site: