8th edition of DStv Eutelsat Star Awards competition kicks off


The 8th edition of the DStv Eutelsat Star Awards competition is back following a successful Ugandan edition.

The 2018 edition, will select a worthy winner based on a creative essay or design a poster based on a pre-determined topic: “Currently, satellites are being used in a variety of ways but there is always room for expansion and growth. Write an essay or design a poster on areas you believe the full potential of satellites has not yet been tapped into or embraced.”

Amos Mumbere, overall winner in the Essay category in 2018/COURTESY

Crowned in Uganda a couple of weeks ago, the overall winner in the Essay category, Amos Mumbere will soon be jetting off to Paris and onwards to French Guiana to witness a live satellite launch as part of his prize.

The overall winner in the Poster category, Taher Rasheed will be in South Africa from 15 July as a guest of MultiChoice Africa and will not only visit the South African National Space Agency as part of his prize, but will get to see heritage sites such Nelson Mandela’s former home in Soweto, the Constitution Hill and Soccer City to name a few. Students aged between 14 and 19 stand a chance to walk in their footsteps by submitting their Essay or Poster to any MultiChoice Office listed on the entry form.

How to apply:
The DStv Eutelsat Star Awards are open to all learners from secondary (high) or combined schools on the continent where MultiChoice Africa maintains operations. Entry forms can be obtained from any MultiChoice Resource Centre, the nearest MultiChoice office or via www.dstvstarawards.com. Entries are accepted in English, French, and Portuguese and will be judged on the basis of high-standard criteria of accuracy, creativity, originality, and innovation. Students are invited to engage with the Awards community through a dedicated Facebook page.

The competition closes on 12 October 2018. Only entries submitted on the official entry form will be eligible. The overall winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in February 2019.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *