Kibaki honours top business leaders

December 14, 2011

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 14 – Leading local business and private sector leaders from diverse spheres have received State commendations in recognition of their outstanding contribution to nation building.

This year’s national commendations were handed to 180 individuals who have excelled in various disciplines and feature some of the leading business lights and academicians.

During the State Investiture of the awards at State House Gardens as part of the 48th Jamhuri Day Celebrations, Kenyatta University Vice Chancellor Prof. Olive Mugenda, Equity Bank Group Chairman Peter Munga and Managing Director Dr James Mwangi alongside Bidco Industries CEO Vimal Shah received the First Class Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (C.B.S) which is the highest order for private citizens.

Alongside the finance and manufacturing services gurus, communications sector investor Koome Mwambia leads the pack for business leaders bestowed with the second class Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (E.B.S) which also features SBO Research Managing Director Catherine Ngahu, Housing Finance, Managing Director Frank Ireri, Family Bank Chairman Titus Muya, Britak CEO Benson Wairegi and Riva Petroleum Founder Eng. Peter Njagi.

While commenting on his award, Mwambia who is also the Chief Executive Officer at Ogilvy Kenya Group described the honour as a fitting national celebration for business leaders in recognition of their economic development contribution.

“The continued recognition to commercial sector players, particularly the drivers of business in both private and public sectors inspires young emerging leaders as well as celebrates our role in advancing Kenya’s national economic interests,” Mwambia affirmed.

Other business leaders awarded the Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear medal included: KICC Managing Director Beatrice Makawiti, KEPSA chairman Patrick Obath, Senior Counsel Fred Ojiambo, Industrial Development Bank Capital Ltd Managing Director James Karanja, Co-Op Bank Group Managing Director Gideon Muriuki and Kenya Association of Manufacturers CEO Betty Maina.

Youthful Safaricom Technical Services General Manager Betty Thuo, and Globetrack International Managing Director Esther Kagiri were also bestowed with MBS medals for their role in the ICT development field.

From the parastatal sector, Kenya Ports Authority Managing Director Francis Ndua Gichiri, ADC MD William Kirwa, Geothermal Development Company CEO Dr Silas Simiyu, and Kenya National Highways Authority Director General Meshack Kidenda also received MBS medals.

Latest Articles

Business Podcasts

Live prices

Stock Market

Most Viewed