KQ appoints two directors

February 9, 2010

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 9 – Kenya Airways has appointed two non-executive directors to its board.

A management and institutional development specialist Salma Mazrui and the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Transport Dr Cyrus Njiru have joined The Pride of Africa’s board.

They replace Micah Cheserem who resigned in February last year after being appointed the Chairman of the Capital Markets Authority (CMA) – the regulator of the capital markets industry in which Kenya Airways shares are listed and Permanent Secretary, Engineer Abdulrazaq Adan Ali who has since been transferred to the Ministry of Trade.

“The two directors bring a wealth of experience to Kenya Airways having worked for several years in various key sectors both locally and internationally,” Kenya Airways Chairman Evanson Mwaniki said.

Ms Mazrui is a management and institutional development specialist with 20 years experience in insurance, private health care, advertising, finance and advocacy sectors.

She played a leading role in the formation of Kenya’s Private Sector Development Strategy and has previously worked in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Cote D’Ivoire, Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Mozambique, Namibia and Swaziland. 

She is currently a member of the National Economic and Social Council and KCA University; and director of the African Fund for Endangered Wildlife. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Economics from the George Mason University, Virginia USA and a Masters in Business Administration (Marketing) from the University of Nairobi.

On his part, Dr Njiru is the former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Trade. He has previously worked as the Principal Adviser on Infrastructure Development and Management at the African Development Bank’s headquarters in Tunis, Tunisia. He has also served as a Research and Consultancy Manager at the Institute of Development Engineering in the United Kingdom.

He holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration from the UK, PhD (Infrastructure Development, Finance and Management) UK; MSc in Engineering Project Management UK and MSc in Management and implementation of Development Project in the UK.

The other Kenya Airways board members are Evanson Mwaniki (non-executive chairman), Titus Naikuni (Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer), Alex Mbugua (Group Finance Director), Dinesh Kapila (non-executive director) and Peter Hartman (non-executive director).

Others are Ron Schipper (non-executive director), Denis Afande (non-executive director), Joseph Kinyua (non-executive director), Ayisi Makatiani (non-executive director) and Jos Veenstra (alternate executive director) and Ms Fiona Fox (Company Secretary).

Latest Articles

Live prices

Stock Market

Most Viewed