Football Football

Fabregas insists he did not dive

Shares

FABREGAS-DIVELONDON, December 30- Cesc Fabregas insists he did not dive in Sunday’s draw against Southampton after the Chelsea midfielder was booked for perceived simulation.

The two teams were already level at 1-1 when Spain international Fabregas went down in the area under a challenge from Matt Targett, with the Blues bench convinced it was a penalty.

However, referee Anthony Taylor saw it differently and booked the playmaker for diving, denying the west London giants what could have proved a pivotal moment in the game.

Fabregas, though, has since hit out at the match official’s decision, telling Chelsea’s official website: “There was definitely contact. I don’t think the referee had the best game of his life but we’re all human and a bad day at the office can happen to anyone.

“That’s it, let’s not talk more about it, we have to talk about football.”

Shares

Comments