Kibaki names 47 County Commissioners

A statement from State House Nairobi said the president had acted in line with Section 17 of the sixth schedule of the Constitution/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 11 – President Mwai Kibaki appointed 47 County Commissioners Friday, effectively setting the stage for the formation of the county government as enshrined in the new Constitution.

A statement from State House Nairobi said the president had acted in line with Section 17 of the sixth schedule of the Constitution.

The schedule states: “Within five years after the effective date, the national government shall restructure the system of administration commonly known as the Provincial Administration to accord with and respect the system of devolved governments established under this constitution.”

“Further, the fourth schedule of the Constitution clearly outlines the distinct functions of the national government and those of the county governments. President Mwai Kibaki has appointed County Commissioners to undertake coordination of National Government functions in the 47 counties,” the State House statement said.

It said the county governors appointed on Friday shall responsible in coordinating security management, national Government functions and delivery of services, facilitate conflict management and peace-building, mobilise national government agencies for national events and programmes.

They will also collaborate with the Kenya citizens and foreign nationals’ management service in the identification of persons for registration.

Other functions include promoting and enhancing national cohesion and integration to foster unity of the nation as well as coordinating the dissemination and implementation of national government policies and programmes.

They will also manage and maintain administrative boundaries, security roads and airstrips.

“As an immediate task, the County Commissioners will work closely with the Transitional Authority to register and compile a comprehensive portfolio of all government assets in the counties including land and buildings, equipment, vehicles, staff, documents and all other public resources. This will include assets under local authorities,” the President said.

He said the County Commissioners will also facilitate the ongoing civic education on among others the Constitution; devolved government and also seek public input into draft county strategic plans, and development plans.

The draft plans will be finalised after the Central and County Governments are in place after the general elections.

Provincial Commissioners in all the eight provinces will facilitate smooth transition to the devolved government.

The following are the County Commissioners:

1. Joseph Keter -Kirinyaga

2. Michael Mwangi -Nyeri

3. Kula Hache -Muranga

4. Wcyliffe Ogallo – Nyandarua

5. Wilson Njega – Kiambu

6. Nelson Marwa – Mombasa

7. Evans Achoki – Kwale

8. Maalim Mohamed – Kilifi

9. Joseph Rotich – Tana-River

10. Stephen Ikua – Lamu

11. Rashid Khator – Taita Taveta

12. Isaiah Nakoru – Marsabit

13. Wanyama Musiambo – Isiolo

14. Chege Mwangi – Meru

15. Christopher Musumbu – Tharaka Nithi

16. Hellen S. Kiilu – Embu

17. Erastus Ekidor – Kitui

18. Ann Gakuria – Machakos

19. David N. Ole Shege – Makueni

20. Moffat Kangi – Garissa

21. Naftary Mung’athia – Wajir

22. Michael Tialal Nkodi – Mandera

23. Lorna Odero – Kisumu

24. Joseph Kimiywi – Siaya

25. Joseph S. Otieno – Homabay

26. Ann Ngetich – Migori

27. Wilson Wanyanga – Nyamira

28. Lydia Muriuki – Kisii

29. Julius Mathenge – Turkana

30. Peter Okwanyo – West Pokot

31. Charity Chepkonga – Trans-Nzoia

32. Arthur Osiya -Kajiado

33. Kassim Farah – Narok

34. Amos Gathecha – Nakuru

35. Bernard Leparmalai – Baringo

36. Esther W. Maina – Laikipia

37. Wilson Nyagwanga – Samburu

38. Abdi M. Hassan – Uasin Gishu

39. Birik Mohammed – Keiyo Marakwet

40. Matilda Sakwa – Nandi

41. Pauline Dola – Bomet

42. Rashid Mohammed – Kericho

43. Albert Kobia – Kakamega

44. William Kiprono – Vihiga

45. Jamlick Baruga – Bungoma

46. Joyce Isiaho – Busia

47. Shadrack Mwadime – Nairobi

  • Kalepe3

    hey these commissioners don’t represent the face of kenya its dominated by certain tribes, why cant we as a country, change i think the president and the prime minister are tribalists.

    • Pratt

      You need professional administrators or anybody from each tribe? We are getting it all wrong by resorting to same same vices we pretend to be against.

    • Donadare

      Let us not generalize the whole saga……Raila was not consulted….therefore its not right to say He is a tribalist……if you follow the trends of appointments from Kimunya’s and now Kibaki’s…..let the constitution be respected and followed to the latter by everyone…

  • Lavedith

    was raila consulted?

  • Nyabutig

    he is the biggest tribalist, fagga

  • Pratt

    Appointing DCs was never a joint job, its a single man’s preserve. We are wasting alot of time on none issues folks!

    • Stranger

      In deed it WAS a one man’s job as was everything else and we all know what that got us. These are the things that we were attempting to change with the new constitution and this was what the accord was addressing. Avoiding unilateral decisions not supported by solid factors and detrimental to the peace and harmony that the country needs to steer forward.

  • Alisasabu

    What cretaria has he follows coz majority of them as you can see ………….(Tribalism,Nepotism……….)

  • ObieK

    With the new constitutional dispensation does the Executive arm of the government still have the sweeping powers to appoint without a check and balance from the Parliamentary wing?  What is the role of this so called commissioners, and who will they be answerable to – the people or the Executive?  Democracy should prevail by the people electing their leaders as opposed to mega-appointments from without.  The elected county governor should be the head, and not a commissioner; and a matter-of-fact the governor should be the one involved in the appointment of a commissioner.

  • Stranger

    Recently in a discussion about this appointment someone said, the commissioners should have been elected/ selected from each County and then shuffled up. That way regardless of where they fall people know that each and every county have their own. It would be interesting to see which counties these 47 are drawn from?

Latest Articles

Most Viewed